10 Ways to Say I Care

29 Jun

Many of my posts are about desserts that are easy to make. Not this one. This one takes some real effort. Which is why I only make it occasionally. So occasionally…..that I think the last time I made it was almost two years ago. The ten layered cake.
Ten.
Layers.

I’m going to try something new here. I usually end up with WAY too many in-the-process pictures and I think collages would make it a little more interesting. Let me know what you think. πŸ™‚

Before I even began baking any layers, I mixed up two things: a LARGE bowl of cake batter (about 8 cups) and a batch of chocolate buttercream.

10 layers 5

Then I started the process of baking the layers. They must be very thin, so it’s extra important that they don’t stick to the pan. In order to be safe here, I cut out parchment paper circles to place in the bottom of my pie pans. I find pie pans the easiest to use for these cakes because I bake 6 layers at a time. I don’t have 6 round cake pans of the same size, and it only costs about $3 to get this many pie pans at the grocery store. πŸ™‚ Once the parchment rounds are cut, they need to be buttered and floured. Then in goes almost 1 cup of cake batter. It’s important to try to spread the batter evenly, although I’m not very good at this part. You’ll see in just a minute if you keep reading. πŸ™‚ Then fill your oven with these layers and they’ll be done in 15 minutes or less.

10 layers 6

While these were baking I made the cooked icing. You see, since the layers are to thin they can’t hold up to the thick buttercream. I’ll just be spreading that around the sides and top to make it look prettier. The layers need a very thin icing that’s made from boiling sugar, butter, cocoa, and evaporated milk.

10 layers 3

Once all of the layers were baked, I still had to wait a little while to use the cooked icing. It needs to cool after coming to a boil, and that takes quite some time. See what I mean about a lot of effort? Good thing I like my brother in law. He’s been talking about this cake for a few weeks so I wanted to make him one. But while the icing was cooling, I was thinking to myself, “Why couldn’t Wes like a different kind of cake the best?” πŸ™‚ But after the icing was nice and cool I started stacking the layers and pouring a little of the cooked icing between each layer. As it turns out, by the time you finish stacking 10 of these, even slightly uneven layers make a big difference. Who knew?!? πŸ™‚

10 layers 4

Once all of the layers were stacked, I spread the chocolate buttercream over the whole deal, so that it would look somewhat presentable. Got to do something since it turned out completely lopsided!!!! Good thing nobody in my family will care. πŸ™‚ But, if you look at it from a different angle, it’s COMPLETELY normal looking. πŸ˜‰

10 layers 2

As long as it’s not leaning so much that it falls over, I’m fine with it. This isn’t a cake I’ve ever been capable of making and looking nice. It looks crazy.
But it’s yummy.
So that’s ok.
Leaning or not, there are still 10 little layers nestled between chocolate icing and at the end of the day, that’s what I was aiming for. Now I think I’ll put off making another one of these for another year or so. πŸ˜›
10 layers 1

Leave a Reply

