No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

20 Jun

I’ve been making cookies like these for years now. I still remember helping my mom make them, in fact. We obviously were big fans of these cookies. The recipe she had for them was in one of those church-spiral-bound cookbooks, and the page where this treasure was printed is now stained with cocoa powder. 🙂 Good sign. 🙂
Somewhere along the way I lost my recipe for these.
No fear. Pinterest is here.
I found a recipe very similar to the one I’d always made, but it used chocolate chips instead of cocoa powder. Interesting. I happened to have chocolate chips handy. (Let’s not act surprised about that) I decided to give it a go. Just as easy, and delicious as the ones I’d always remembered. SO rich and chewy.

Heat a saucepan on medium and then add the following: 1 stick of butter, 1/2 cup of milk, and 2 cups of sugar. Stir as the butter melts and then continue cooking until boiling.

no bake cookies 001

Only allow to boil for 1 MINUTE and then remove from the heat. Immediately pout this into a bowl containing: 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 3 cups of oats. As you stir the butter mixture in, the chocolate will be melted by the heat. It’s a beautiful thing. 🙂

no bake cookies 002

no bake cookies 004
no bake cookies 005

Then just drop by spoonfuls onto wax paper to cool. These cookies took less than 15 minutes to make. If you want them to cool even faster, stick them in the fridge. In fact, I think they taste pretty good chilled. So even if you aren’t in a hurry (but why wouldn’t you be????) you might like them in the fridge anyways.

no bake cookies 006

Do you remember the last cookie recipe I posted? I took a cute picture of them next to a glass of milk….in front of a rainbow colored chevron pattern? Yeah, that one? I decided that I would start taking at least one cute picture of each recipe I make, because….let’s face it. Cute ones are just better than the picture of the process. While I was making these I was trying to think of what kind of cute background I would use for a picture. Then….not long after that I was sitting in the living room floor sharing the LAST cookie with Abigail. When I thought, “Oops! I was going to take a cute picture of these. Too late.” 🙂 Oh well.I might have to make these again soon and experiment a little. The recipe I’d used in the past had a little bit of creamy peanut butter in it. Not enough to give the cookies a strong peanut butter flavor, but it did add a little bit of oomph to the cookies. Obviously, Abigail and I liked these cookies just fine too. 🙂 But, I DO have another entire unopened jar of oats in the pantry. It would pretty much be terrible if I DIDN’T try making these cookies again, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

