28 Dec

This Christmas I tried a recipe for a dessert I’d never even heard of before, much less tried to make. My mother in law saw it in a magazine and mentioned it to me: red velvet cheesecake. I’m normally not a red velvet lover. Honestly, the thing I like best about red velvet cake is the cream cheese icing. The actual cake….I could take it or leave it. But I thought a red velvet cheesecake sounded very interesting….and there would be lots of cream cheese in a cheesecake so I thought it was worth a try. 🙂 Even though I’m not a red velvet person, I really liked this cheesecake. My brother in law does love red velvet cake, and cheesecake too. He said that this recipe was “truly the best of both worlds.” My mother in law said that although this was the first time I’d try this recipe, I’d have to start making one each Christmas. 🙂 So go ahead and try it. Don’t wait until next Christmas though. It has a nice, deep red tint to it. Bake someone special one for Valentine’s Day. 🙂
http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/red-velvet-cheesecake-10000001023804/
RV cheesecake 12.24.12 001
It starts with making a chocolate graham cracker crust. YUM. Pretty good way to start something, I’d say.
RV cheesecake 12.24.12 002
Then beat together some cream cheese and sugar. Still on the right track so far.
RV cheesecake 12.24.12 003
Then it needs eggs, cocoa, butter milk (*for baking I ALWA”YS use the milk/vinegar cheat method), sour cream, vanilla, and red food coloring. This will complete the cheesecake batter.
RV cheesecake 12.24.12 004
Mine had a huge crack in the center after baking, like all of my cheesecakes have. But this recipe has a spread to go on the very top, which conveinantly covers it all up…genuis! It’s made of cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla.
RV cheesecake 12.24.12 005
Here’s an example of what the final product will look like, when taken in extremely poor lighting. 😉 I was in a hurry because I finished the cheesecake Christmas morning, so I didn’t spend much time trying to get a better shot.

A little time consuming, because after baking it must chill for 8 hours before adding the top layer. But I’d say it’s worth it, especially if it makes your family smile on Christmas. 😀

Leave a Reply

