Christmas Cookies!

23 Dec

This year I put together some cookie baskets for the first time! In the past I’ve always put Christmas treats in some type of festive bag or box, but I had lots of fun putting these baskets together. At first I was worried about arranging them, because I didn’t want it to look like I just dumped the cookie pan in the basket and stuck a bow on the front. 🙂 I was actually surprised at how easy it was to make a nice looking display.
Here is the smallest sized basket I put together:

I started with a pretty basket, hoping that the recipiants will use it again for some future Christmas festivities:

cookie baskets 001

I put tissue paper in the very bottom and then added a layer of cellophane so that the tissue papr didn’t get greasy from the cookies.
cookie baskets 002

Then I just stacked the cookies in a few layers, trying to get them all facing the front of the basket.
cookie baskets 003

cookie baskets 004

Wrapping it all up and tying it was VERY easy, thanks to some cellophane bags I found at Michael’s. No need to try to measure/guess how much cellophane you’ll need and then cut it the right size. Just slip the basket all the way down into the bag and tie it up. To make this even easier, just an old bread tie to tie up the bag while you’re getting the pretty ribbon put on. Then just take the bread tie off. 😉

cookie baskets 005

For these smaller sized baskets, I didn’t need any kind of filling. The cookies took up all of the room. 🙂 But it annoys me sometimes when gift baskets are filled all the way with paper/fluffy junk and then only the very top layer is the gift. For these baskets, I used some calendar’s from my husband’s office for the filler, because they were for his clients. Much better than fluffy paper that will just be thrown away. But I thought for future basekets….if I need something to fill the bottom I’ll use cute Christmas plates and napkins….something they can put their cookies on. 🙂
I was surpised at how easy it was to make them look nice, and I’ll definitely be making them again next year!

Are you ready for Christmas?!? I’m not! We still have a little shopping left to do, and I NEVER have shopping left on the 23rd! 🙂 We planned to finish it yesterday, but no one in our house was feeling well. 😦 Are you ready for the big day? What is still left on your to do list? Comment and let me know! 🙂

One Response to “Christmas Cookies!”

  1. Phyllis December 23, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Last on my list is to get some sweet sugar from Abby:)

Leave a Reply

