Pretty Christmas things :)

10 Dec

This post isn’t about a new recipe. Just a new presentation. 🙂

I’m re-copying the recipe at the bottom in case you need it. I wanted to make some to share with a co-worker but I wanted to do something new with them. I opened my cabinet (full of baking stuff, of course) and there it was! Perfect! A glass teacup “tasting set” that I received as a Christmas gift last year. They would be just the right thing. I crumbled up some of the gingerbread cupcake, and layered it with cream cheese frosting. A dusting of cinnamon on top and you have…..

this beauty. Photographed in some of my favorite Christmas paper from this year!
12.10.12 003

My friend told me about this photographing technique. I taped wrapping paper to the wall and then let it fall down the wall and onto the floor to look like a Christmas background. Of course, when she was telling me about it she was talking about taking pictures of kids. Not cupcakes. 😉 But here’s to a mixture of some of my favorite things in a pretty little package: Christmas flavors, cream cheese frosting, and wrapping paper. Go ahead. Try them and then enjoy one. Or three.

1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 stick butter, room temp.
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
3/4 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
pinch salt
1/2 cup molasses
2 eggs
1/2 cup sour cream
Mix flour and baking soda. In a separate bowl, beat together butter, brown sugar, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Beat in molasses, and then eggs one at a time. Beat in the flour mixture. Mix in sour cream until well-blended. Pour into lined cupcake pan. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out almost clean.

Icing:

Beat together 1 stick of softened butter and 1 eight oz. package of cream cheese. Mix in 1 tsp. of vanilla. Then add 1 lb. of powdered sugar and mix until creamy.

One Response to “Pretty Christmas things :)”

  1. Jessica December 29, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Seeing this a little late, but what a clever way to use wrapping paper!!

Leave a Reply

