Pretzel Hugs

30 Jun

Another sweet and salty treat that I learned from one of my Patterson friends. 🙂 She made these for a Valentine’s party at school and I loved the taste and how easy they seemed! I looked it up on Pinterest before I got started (where else would you find a recipe these days?) 🙂 just to make sure I set the oven at the right temperature. Didn’t want to burn any perfectly good chocolate!

You only need 3 things for these yummy treats. Square pretzels, Hershey’s Hugs, and m&m’s. You could also use Hershey’s Kisses, but I like that the Hugs have an extra flavor added in.

And they are so simple that the hardest party of the entire process is not eating all of the Hugs and m&m’s as you go. Seriously. If you manage to get them onto the pretzels instead of into your mouth, the rest of it is super easy.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. (I’ve noticed that most yummy recipes start this way. If a recipe starts with “Wash and dry all of the vegetables,” then I’m just not interested.)

Line your cookie sheet with aluminum fil or parchment paper and lay out the pretzels.

Image

Then unwrap the Hugs and place them on top of the pretzels. Put them into the oven just until the Hugs start to melt. This only takes 2-5 minutes. The Hugs should still be standing up and retaining their shape.

 

Image

Working quickly, gently place one m&m on top of each Hug. The Hug will fall down as you do this, since it is partially melted. A few of them will end up looking somewhat ugly if you drop the m&m on sideways and then the whole thing kind of falls apart. Just eat these quickly so that no one sees them. 😉

Let them sit until the chocolate is dried again. When I looked it up on Pinterest, the post said it will be set in about an hour. I found that it took much longer than that. I used red and blue m&m’s for these since the 4th of July is coming up.

Image

That’s another great thing about these treats, in addition to them being yummy and simple. You can kind of customize the colors for whatever holiday is coming up.

Now, after I made these and tested out one of them (Or maybe 5 of them. Same difference) I started thinking…

They are good just like this. But I like even more salty goodness in ratio to the chocolately goodness. So next time (and there WILL be a next time) I may try making a pretzel hug sandwich. 🙂 I could melt them just like I did before, with one Hug on top of each pretzel. But then, instead of placing an m&m on top I could place one more pretzel on top.

What do you think about that? I think there’s only one way to find out. And I think I’m going to find out very soon. 😉

Up Next: Probably nothing for a little while. Next weekend my best friend is coming to visit me. (Actually, she’s coming to see Abigail. I can only pretend she still wants to see me.) And then the following weekend I’m going to South Carolina to see my other best friend, my sister! YAY! 🙂 🙂 🙂 So, I won’t be around the blog for a bit.

Random Thought of the Day: Do you have a favorite 4th of July memory? I think all of the good memories I have about the 4th involve watermelon. Maybe I’ll get some next week. 🙂

 

One Response to “Pretzel Hugs”

  1. Mom July 4, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Laura and I made some this morning. She LOVES them and she made a “sandwich” out ofthe last one. She said it was YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

