Strawberry Pretzel “Salad”

3 Jun

For my first post in a long time, I’m writing about a salad. Except that I’d hardly call it a salad. πŸ˜‰ This recipe was found on allrecipes.com, but I first had the dessert almost 3 years ago. When I got my very first teaching job the teacher next door to me made this and brought it to school for a special lunch of some kind (who knows what it was for…teachers will use any excuse to get together and eat!). I managed to get some of it….but about 15 minutes into the lunch it was gone!Β  Apparently she’d made the dish several times before, so everyone knew how good it was and scooped it up before it was too late. This isn’t the exact recipe as my co-worker’s, but it’s pretty close.

The pretzel crust is my FAVORITE part. Well, it’s my favorite because it’s combined with the sweetness of the strawberries and cream cheese. I love a good salty/sweet combination. It’s made of crushed pretzels, a spoonful of sugar, and some melted butter. (This is very easy to do. You can even crush theΒ  pretzels in a ziploc bag with one hand, while bouncing a baby in the other hand. Trust me.)

Image

I like the salty addition to this dessert so much that next time I make it, I might just double the pretzel portion. The second layer is a mixture of cream cheese, sugar, and cool whip. (For best results, put the baby down in a bouncer to spread this layer on top. You might wind up with a mess if you don’t.)

Image

The very top is a box of strawberry jello dissolved in boiling water, plus some frozen strawberries. (Do not attempt to boil anything until Daddy comes home from work and is watching the baby.) πŸ˜‰

Image

Once all three layers are spread into the pan, it needs to be refrigerated until cool. Then just scoop out and enjoy! πŸ™‚

Image

I should note that if you follow the actual recipe, http://allrecipes.com/recipe/strawberry-pretzel-salad-2/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=strawberry%20salad&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page, you will get a full 9 x13 pan of this. I halved it which is why it made a smaller batch.

Image

If you like strawberry cheesecake and you like sweet and salty duos, this is something you should try! And with the Fourth of July coming up, it would be a good dessert to bring to a cookout. Cool and refreshing during the summer, plus it has patriotic colors. πŸ˜‰

Up Next: I have no idea, and I have no idea how long it will be before I post something else. I’ll let you know when I figure it out. πŸ˜‰

One Response to “Strawberry Pretzel “Salad””

  1. Jessica June 3, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Looks so good! Maybe I will try this for the fourth : )

Leave a Reply

