Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes

6 Apr

Some of you who read this blog know that I eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch almost every day. Like 5 or 6 days a week. ๐Ÿ™‚ I figure that one day I’ll probably grow out of them. But who knows. I’ve just always loved them. So for some of you it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I made peanut butter and jelly cupcakes. ๐Ÿ˜€
Unusual, yes.

A little weird with the first bite, yes.

Totally yummy, YES.

I actually pieced together two difference recipes to make these. Partly because I liked different things about the 2 recipes, and partly because I wanted to use ingredients that I already had. I used a Foodย  Network recipe for the frosting. Then I used a recipe from “The Girl Who Ate Everything” for the cake batter.

The cupcakes taste a LOT like peanut butter cookies. ๐Ÿ™‚ So even if you aren’t keen on the PB and J cupcakes, you could make the cupcakes and ice them with chocolate frosting. The recipe said you can use creamy or crunchy peanut butter. I used crunchy and I LOVE how the texture turned out.

Image

Image

My friend Natalie helped me make these, and after they cooled she cut out pieces of them so that they could be filled with jelly. I usually eat grape jelly on my sandwiches, but I thought strawberry would go better with the cupcakes.

Image

Image

The frosting was just as good as the cupcakes. It has peanut butter and cream cheese in it. A GOOD combo. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I used creamy peanut butter for the icing, because I didn’t want it to have the crunchy texture for it like I did the cake.

Then we added a little more jelly to the top of the cupcake. I didn’t realize when I took this picture how horrible the lighting was. But I wanted to pipe a heart on one of them to show my true feelings for these cupcakes.

Image

Random Thought of the Day: Happy Easter everyone!

Up Next: Nothing for a little while. Thisย baby girl is due a week from tomorrow!ย  Planning on not posting anything new to the blog, because I’m sure I won’t have any time for it. ๐Ÿ™‚ For the best of reasons. ๐Ÿ™‚

One Response to “Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes”

  1. Jessica April 7, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Very interesting. I would try these a lot quicker than the bacon cupcakes though ; )

Leave a Reply

