Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

2 Apr

The easiest pie I’ve ever made. Also, another recipe from bakerella.com. My husband and I made this on St. Patrick’s Day, but I’m just now getting around to posting it. That explains why we added green food coloring to the batter. 🙂 It was pretty cool to have a green pie for the day, but on any other day this recipe would look much more appetizing with a nice golden brown color. : )

You start by beating a couple of eggs until they get foamy, then mix in my trio of favorite ingredients: flour, sugar, and butter.

Image

Image

Then stir in the chocolate chips and pour into a deep dish pie shell. So easy! (Food coloring, of course, is completely optional). The recipe also calls for chopped pecans, but my hubby doesn’t care for them so we left them out. If you do like chocolate chip cookies with pecans, I’m sure they would make this pie even better.

Image

Image

It bakes for one hour but after letting it cool enough to slice, you can eat it warm. 🙂

Image

If I make this pie again, I will try a little trick that I’ve heard of to keep chocolate chips from all sinking to the bottom. If you notice in the picture, all of the melty chocolate goodness is right near the crust. I’ve heard people say that if you toss your chocolate chips with a little flour before adding them to the recipe, they stay distributed throughout the batter.

It’s not the kind of texture I usually think of when I think of pie. Not gooey and syrupy like warm apple pie. Not a pudding-like texture of my Granny’s chocolate pie. It’s actually more the texture of a cake, but in a pie shell. Kind of airy. Not bad, just different. 🙂

Random Thought for the Day: Braves Opening Day is this week!!!!! Thursday Hanson will take the mound against the Mets. I’m super excited. 🙂

Up Next: Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes

One Response to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie”

  1. Jessica Llanes April 2, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    GO BRAVES!!!! Why must they schedule the season opener at 1:10 pm when people are at work? : (

Leave a Reply

