Baby shoes cake!

16 Mar

Who is special enough to have a cake decorated for her before she is even born? My daughter. 🙂 ❤

I’ve been wanting to learn how to make these baby shoes out of gumpaste (similar to fondant) for quite some time now. I decided since it’s spring break and I have plenty of time on my hands, it was the perfect opportunity. 🙂 Of course I  had to make them  pink since I am having a little girl!

I would never have been able to do this without the templates I found on cakecentral.com, as well as a youtube video that I must have watched half a dozen times so I wouldn’t forget what I was supposed to do.

I started with cutting out the templates and then cutting the gumpaste into the right shapes.

Image

Image

Then I attached the front part of the shoe to the bottom sole and crumpled up some plastic wrap to give it a little support until it had time to dry.

Image

Then I wrapped around the main piece of the shoe. I used a fondant tool to make it look like it had stitching and also create some holes to add laces. The white details were “glued” on with some meringue powder mixed with water.

Image

I gave these a few minutes to dry and then added a little bow (also made of gumpaste). I put these on top of a yellow cake with strawberry filling that I’d iced in a purple buttercream. I don’t usually make a filling for my cakes, but this one was going to have Abigail’s name on it, so it had to be extra nice. 🙂

Image

Looks almost like a pair of her shoes!

Image

I’m not gonna lie….these little shoes took a long time to make! About 2 hours. But I felt so accomplished to know that they turned out and were identifiable as shoes. 😉 I really want to make them again sometime. Maybe for someone’s baby shower or something. They’re one of my favorite creations so far!

Image

Random Thought of the Day: Spring break is almost over for me. 😦 This week has been wonderful. I love sleeping in on weekdays. 🙂 Going to enjoy these last couple of days off and then head back to work for 2 more weeks!

Up Next: Cream cheese stuffed strawberries. Stacia sent me a link for them…I guess because she knew I wouldn’t be able to resist trying them. 🙂

2 Responses to “Baby shoes cake!”

  1. Mom March 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Awesome job Jenn! Abigail isgoing to love having amom who can make such creative cakes! So will all her friends:)

  2. Jessica March 17, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Of course Abigail would already have a cake ; ) I love it.

Leave a Reply

