Sodas by the Mr.

11 Mar

I have enjoyed my start to spring break and haven’t bothered baking a single thing. πŸ™‚ Been busy working on the nursery and also just catching up on a little rest. So now I’m really glad that last week I mentioned posting some of the sodas that Eric has made.

For Christmas Eric asked for a soda siphon and a recipe book. It’s been pretty fun to see and taste all of the things he has made! Some of the recipes have some very uncommon ingredients, things we’d have to order online just to make one batch of soda. So we’ve stuck with the more basic ones for now. Here’s the recipe book and the siphon that he uses to make most of them:

Image

Image

Lots of the recipes start with making some type of syrup. Then it gets poured into the siphon and he fills the siphon the rest of the way with water. Most importantly, he adds a cartridge of CO2 to the siphon to give it carbonation. πŸ™‚ A couple of the recipes don’t require a siphon at all, you can just mix the syrup with seltzer water which is available at any grocery store. So if you want to try making a few sodas without buying the siphon, that’s a good way to start. πŸ™‚

This was was called “Sparkling Watermelon.” Wasn’t my favorite flavor, but it did look awfully pretty. πŸ™‚

Image

This one was one of my favorites! Kiwi Lime soda. I thought it had a perfect balance of sweet and tangy flavors. This one took a little while to make because he had to strain out all of the kiwi seeds from the puree. But it was worth it!!!

Image

I also loved this one: Sparkling Orange Creamsicle. It has orange juice, vanilla yogurt, and vanilla ice cream. πŸ™‚ YUM. This is one that you don’t even need the siphon for. Just mix together 1 cup each of the 3 ingredients and puree in a food processor or blender. Then pour 3/4 cup of the puree in a glass and stir in 3/4 of a cup of seltzer water. Very easy!

Image

He’s made more than these three, but these are the three that I remembered to take pictures of. I’m thinking now of how I could play around with the flavor in the creamsicle recipe because it was so good and simple to make. Of course orange creamsicle is the classic, but I wonder if it would work with strawberry flavor also? Maybe just use some strained strawberry puree in place of the orange juice? Maybe while I’m on spring break this week I’ll play around with it a little. πŸ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: GO NOLES! ACC basketball champs.

Up Next: I’m going to try a new gumpaste figure this week while I’m on vacation. I haven’t made anything from gumpaste since my nativity cake before Christmas. Hopefully it’s successful enough to post. πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Sodas by the Mr.”

  1. Jessica Llanes March 11, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Kiwi lime sounds good! I bet it would make a good smoothie too : )

  2. icingonyourcake March 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Hey that’s me! Sparkling latte was also a huge hit. But chocolate mint water was not haha

    • Jessica March 14, 2012 at 11:28 am #

      Chocolate mint water? Gross!

Leave a Reply

