Maple French Toast and Bacon Cupcakes

26 Feb

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s official. The Food Network has driven me completely insane. I’ve done the unthinkable. I’ve put bacon into a cupcake. It feels so weird to even say that. But, I have. My friend, Stacia, sent me a link to some bacon cupcakes a while back and said they looked interesting. I agreed they sounded interesting….but was it really a good kind of interesting? Or was it just plain weird? I wasn’t sure.

But….since then they’ve been in the back of mind. So I decided there was only one way to find out what I thought about them. Just try them. Yikes. I didn’t save the link she sent me, so I’m not sure if itw as the Food Network recipe or not, but I figured this would be close enough. You can find the full recipe here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/maple-french-toast-and-bacon-cupcakes-recipe/index.htmlΒ I made a couple of changes. I left out the potato starch completely. I wasn’t entirely sure what that even is, and I certainly didn’t have any on hand. I also used milk instead of half and half because I already had milk in the fridge.

The batter starts out looking pretty normal. It smells REALLY good from the cinnamon and nutmeg. Have I ever mentioned on this blog that I’m kind of obsessed with baking things with cinnamon? πŸ˜‰

Image

Up to this point, I was confident that all was going well. Then I did it. I folded in pieces of bacon. The first time I’ve ever put bacon into a cake batter. Would it be the last? We’ll see. In some weird way, I felt like I was betraying “normal” cupcake recipes. When the recipes end with folding in something, it’s usually something like chocolate chips. Or whipped cream. Or walnuts. But folding in bacon? Eh. I wasn’t sure I loved the idea.

 

 

 

 

While these were in the oven I mixed together the icing. Cream cheese, butter,Β  powdered sugar, maple syrup, and cinnamon. Smelled like french toast. πŸ™‚

Once the cupcakes cooled, I topped them with the icing and added crumbled bacon on top.

Confession: I haven’t actually tried these yet! I’m running late for lunch with someone and I wanted to post them before I left. But I’m still unsure about these, so I think I’ll eat lunch and then try one after I get back home.

Random Thought of the Day: What do you think? Have you ever had a bacon cupcake? Would you try one? Does it just seem really gross?

Up Next: Not sure…the next thing I’m actually baking is key lime cupcakes. But I’ve already posted those here. So I’ll put something new up. A friend of mine did give me a starter bag from some Amish Friendship Bread. Maybe I’ll post that. It does have cinnamon, after all. πŸ˜‰

2 Responses to “Maple French Toast and Bacon Cupcakes”

  1. She Cat Ran March 11, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Soooo what did it taste like?

    • icingonyourcake March 16, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      Not too bad! The bacon flavor wasn’t overwhelming. I liked the maple and cinnamon flavors. It was better than I expected, but I’m still not about to throw bits of cooked bacon into all of my cakes. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

