Apple Spice Cake

21 Jan

This Apple Spice Cake recipe comes courtesy of the Food Network and Anne Burrell. Who is the best chef on the network,  no matter what my husband might say. 😉 Here is the link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/anne-burrell/apple-spice-cake-with-cream-cheese-icing-recipe2/index.html

I only made a couple of changes to this one. I left out the raisins, and didn’t make the cream cheese icing. I’m not a huge fan of raisins, and I think it was great without them! Although….next time I make it I may double the amount of walnuts. I thought it could use a little more texture, but then I realized it was because I’d decided not to add the raisins.

As for the cream cheese icing, there is no doubt in my mind it would have been better with it. I didn’t make it for two reasons. After I finished making the cake itself, I was kind of tired and feeling lazy. The other reason……pregnancy and cream cheese icing are a very dangerous combination for me! Haha. So without the icing I thought it was closer to a variation on banana nut bread. Still wonderful, I just didn’t think of it as a cake.

Granny Smiths get diced and cooked in some butter and apple cider until they are nice and soft.

 

 

Then this needs to be processed into a paste. I don’t have a full size food processor so I just used my blender. Worked just as well. The flour mixture gets the basics added to it: baking soda and salt. But it also gets a wonderful spice treatment, cinnamon and nutmeg! Smells delicious. And then there’s the brown AND white sugar. I could tell this was going to be a real treat. 🙂 The apple paste goes into the flour mixture, along with an egg, vanilla extract, and the walnuts.

Then it’s ready for the oven! It smells amazing while it’s baking…..of course, I think this about anything that has cinnamon in it.

 

I even had a little batter leftover, so I poured it into a mini muffin pan. I guess if I had actually went to the trouble of making the cream cheese icing these would be apple spice cupcakes. But without it, I think I’ll just call them apple spice muffins. 🙂 Whatever their name should be, they were pretty tasty!

This recipe is definitely a keeper, although I think I prefer banana nut bread. Maybe just because I like the banana/walnut combination so much.

Random Thought of the Day: My husband made some kiwi lime soda today! It was delicious. 😀

Up Next: I’m thinking maybe something with chocolate. I just realized that the last three posts I’ve made have been something with fruit. Maybe a chocolate pie? Or a new cookie recipe?

 

Leave a Reply

