Strawberry Pie

15 Jan

Nice, shiny, new baking supplies. One of my Christmas gifts from my mom. 🙂 Pampered Chef, no less.

So this week I looked up a strawberry pie recipe to try out my new tart pan. I picked one that included a recipe for the dough itself. Because who wants to use a prepackaged pie crust when they have a new pan like that?

Here’s the link to the recipe that I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/strawberry-cheese-pie/detail.aspx

And here I’ll include it with the slight changes I made. Not because I knew how to make the recipe better, just because I used a few more-readily-available ingredients. As in…..I wanted to use what I already had on hand. 😉

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons shortening
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup cool whip
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 4 cups fresh strawberries, halved
  • 1/4 cup seedless strawberry jelly
  1. Combine flour and salt in medium bowl. Cut in shortening and butter until all the flour is blended to form pea-sized crumbs. Sprinkle with water one tablespoon at a time. Toss lightly with a fork until dough forms a ball. Chill dough 15 to 30 minutes.
  2. Roll dough between two sheets of wax paper into an 11 inch circle. Remove top sheet of wax paper and lay into 9 inch pie pan. Prick bottom and sides of pie shell thoroughly to prevent shrinkage.
  3. Bake at 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) for 10 to 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool to room temperature.
  4. Combine cream cheese and confectioner ‘s sugar in medium bowl. Beat with electric mixer at medium speed until smooth. Beat in vanilla extract. Fold in whipped cream and almonds by hand until well mixed. Pour into cooled crust. Refrigerate until firm.
  5. Decorate pie with strawberries fully or just around the edge. Heat jelly in microwave oven just until soft and brush carefully over strawberries until glazed. Refrigerate until serving.

I felt very accomplished mixing and rolling out my own pie dough! And it wasn’t even hard to do. I’d always kind of assumed it was probably difficult or time consuming, because so many recipes that I see call for the pre-made crusts. But it wasn’t bad at all.

The cream cheese filling was pretty good, but the almonds were barely noticeable in the final product. If I make this again I’ll either increase the amount or just leave them out altogether.

But even better than the filling was the topping. The main star of the show. Just seeing this picture makes my mouth water. It makes me want to run out to the grocery store and buy 5 more pints of strawberries.

I’m not really sure what the best way to arrange strawberries on top of a pie is. I’m sure there’s a way to make it look all nice and fancy. I just started around the edges and worked my way inside.

I wasn’t really sure how long the pie would take to set, since the recipe just said to “refrigerate until firm.” If you look at the crust in this picture, you can see that when I cut the first slice it kind of crumbled apart. So I guess I didn’t wait quite long enough. Of course, my solution to this was to wait a few hours and then slice another piece to see what happened. 🙂 The second slice came out of the pan much more nicely. But I didn’t stop to take a picture of that one. I just headed straight for the couch with a fork in hand. 😀

Up Next: Not sure. I was so focused on finding a recipe to try out my new pan that I haven’t decided what next week will be. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: If you have Martin Luther King, Jr. Day off of work, enjoy your little break. 🙂 For the rest of you……sorry that your job isn’t as cool as mine. 😉

Leave a Reply

