Apple Dumplings

7 Jan

About a month ago I was visiting my mom and she made some apple dumplings. I knew they’d end up here on the blog sooner than later. ๐Ÿ™‚ She told me about a few changes she’d made to the recipe, and when I found a recipe on allrecipes.com, I saw several of the reviewers made similar changes. So, here is the link to the original recipe…..but below I’m typing out the changes I made to them.

3 granny smith apples

2 cans of crescent roll dough

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup sugar

3/4-1 tsp cinnamon

1 can of Mountain Dew

I peeled 3 granny smith apples. If you have one of those nifty apple wedgers you could certainly use it here, but I don’t have one and I wanted to make the apple pieces a little larger anyways. So I cut the apples into 5-6 wedges each. If you have a wedger and it cuts each apple into 8 slices, you’ll only need 2 apples.

Image

When you start getting out the butter and sugar, just remember the picture above. Look how much fruit there is! Clearly, a nutrious recipe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Wrap each of the wedges in a triangle of the crescent roll dough. You’ll need to start at the small end of the triangle, and then pinch the ends together around the apples to seal it. And then repeat over and over until you’ve wrapped them all. At this stage they just look lumpy and pale. But trust me, it gets better. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

The next part is my favorite (except the eating part), because I love the smell of cinnamon. Apples and cinnamon are just the perfect combination! Melt the stick of butter in a saucepan. Add the sugar and cinnamon. Soak in the delicious smell in your kitchen, and thenย pour the mixture over the dumplings.

Image

Lastly, pour the can of Mountain Dew over the top. Honestly, I have no idea what Mountain Dew has to do with this recipe?!? Maybe it just keeps the dumplings moist while baking? Not sure. It sounds a little bizarre, but it works. Trust me.

Image

Bake at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes. When you first take them out of the oven, you can hear the sauce still sizzling. ๐Ÿ˜€ These are pretty good served as is, but as my friend, Melanie, and my mom both pointed out…..a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top would make it even better!

Image

YUM. I know lots of people are starting New Years resolutions right now. So there you have it…..a way to make sureย you eat enough fruit. For those of you who want to eat healthier this year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks so much to my mom for introducing me to these dumplings! This will certainly not be the last time I make them.

Random Thought of the Day: Did you make a resolution? If so, what was it?
I didn’t make one at all this year. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bag thing.

Another Random Thought: My mother in law loaned me the book “The Help.” It was very good! I highly recommend it. I felt like by the end of the book, I really knew the characers. Always a sign of great writing.

Up Next: I got some very nice Pampered Chef tart pans for Christmas. So next I’ll probably make something using those pans. ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now, anything with strawberries sounds fantastic. Anybody have a good strawberry tart recipe? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

