Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

13 Nov

What do I love the most about chocolate chip cookies? It’s really hard to say. It might be that the original, classic chocolate chip cookie makes just about anyone smile. It’s pretty much a fail proof, go-to kind of dessert. But another thing I love is the endless variations. It’s always fun to put a twist on the classic and see where that takes you. A couple of my favorite are cookie bars (which have the flavor of chocolate chip cookies, but more of a brownie-like texture) and pillow cookies (chocolate chip cookies with a brownie piece baked in side).

The really fun thing is that no matter how many recipes you have to put a spin on the chocolate chip cookie, you can always use another one. ๐Ÿ™‚ My limit of chocolate chip-type recipes is always one more than my current total. So today I bring you the dark chocolate chip cookie recipe that I found through Bakerella. *As Christmas time gets closer, I think I should add “Meet Bakerella” to my list. I’m certain Santa could make this happen. After all, he probably enjoys all of her cookie recipes as much as I do.*

As with many cookie recipes, the process is pretty simple. Make a flour mixture and a butter/sugar mixture…..and then add them together. This flour mixture also contains baking soda, salt, and cocoa. A wire whisk in the middle of a pile of flour and cocoa is a beautiful site, if you ask me. ๐Ÿ™‚

The second mixture is creamed right into the mixing bowl: butter, sugar, and a touch of peanut butter. Then also mix in the eggs and vanilla.

All that’s left to do is combine the two mixtures together…..

…and add the chocolate chips. DARK chocolate chips. Seriously, if that sight alone doesn’t make you want to try this recipe, you can just stop reading this post now. Because it’s probably a lost cause for you and these cookies.

These only have to bake for 10-12 minutes. They don’t expand much, so you can fit quite a few on each baking sheet.

The recipe says to let them cool completely on a wire rack. This is completely optional. They can also be eaten right off of the cookie sheetย after only cooling for a couple of minutes (just long enough to not scald your tongue). In fact, it gives you just enough time to pour a nice cold glass of milk. Then go ahead and try the first few cookies while nice and warm. The whole cooling-on-the-rack thing can just be thrown out the window. ๐Ÿ˜€

Up Next: A new flavor of cake pops. ๐Ÿ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: Thanksgiving break means an entire week off from work. And it’s only one measly, little week away. As much as I do enjoy my job (on most days, anyways) this really makes me happy. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

