Pecan Pie Cupcakes

6 Nov

As I sat down to write this post, I tried to remember where it was that I first heard of Pecan Pie Cupcakes. Honestly, I  have no idea. But I thought they sounded like something I should try. 🙂 The weird thing is that I’m not even a fan of pecan pie. At all. But it sounded like an interesting recipe idea…and Thanksgiving is just around the corner…so I felt that it was something I just HAD to attempt.

I found this recipe online from Taste of the South magazine. I figured if anyone knew how to make something taste like pecan pie, it was probably someone from the South, right? The full recipe can be found here. For some reason making cupcakes from scratch always makes me smile. 🙂 Of course with recipes like this one, you need to start laying out ingredients quite a while before you’re ready to bake. The butter, milk, and eggs all need to come to room temperature first. The pecans also should be toasted before you mix them into the batter.

*Note to self: Pecans are the most expensive ingredient. When “tossing” them in butter to toast them, try not to spill half of them on the floor. No actual tossing is required.

Of course it starts with the usual: sifting of the flour, baking powder, and salt. Then you cream together butter and brown sugar. Yum. 🙂 Then the eggs, flour mixture, and vanilla go in. Once you get the pecans folded in, it looks something like this:

They come out of the oven with a simply gorgeous golden brown color. I was actually surprised at how good they smelled, too. I was thinking I may not like these cupcakes since they are modeled after pecan pie. But smelling them right after taking them out of the oven was quickly changing my mind.

While they were baking, I started working on the icing. Most icing recipes that I use don’t require cooking anything on the stove top, but this one did. For some odd reason, that also sounded promising. I have no idea why boiling brown sugar, water, and salt gave me the idea that this icing would be fantastic. That’s just how my mind works, I guess. 🙂

It’s such a small amount to boil that I actually read back over the directions again to make sure I’d measured correctly. Since there is so little of it all, be careful not to burn it! Butter gets added in, along with powdered sugar and a little milk. Very creamy. 🙂 The smell in my kitchen was started to remind me of butter pecan ice cream.

The recipe from the magazine includes directions for an adorable garnish. But it required baking just enough  pie crust to decorate the top of the cupcakes. I wasn’t buying into that. The extra pecan pieces would work just fine. I did drizzle some melted chocolate over the icing though. I wasn’t about to skip that step. 🙂

My mother in law was the first to taste test this new recipe for me. She said it’s one of the best cupcakes she’s ever had! So I think this will go right into my recipe binder for Thanksgiving time. 🙂 I honestly am unsure about naming them Pecan Pie cupcakes though. Not so sure what makes them like pie, but I think Butter Pecan Cupcakes would be a good name for them. Does this flavor sound like something you’d like to try?

Up Next: Maybe mini pies. (Just not pecan). How cute are those things?

Random Thought of the Day: When do you start putting up Christmas decorations? My husband is outside right now putting up lights. 😀 I love his enthusiasm for this time of the year. 🙂

One Response to “Pecan Pie Cupcakes”

  1. Jessica Llanes November 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Butter Pecan sounds awesome! And I haven’t yet made an icing that involves cooking it, maybe I should try that

    We usually put up our Christmas decorations on or the weekend after Thanksgiving. I guess compared to you and Eric, we’re procrastinators ; )

Leave a Reply

