Fading Color Scheme

16 Oct

This summer I had the chance to visit my sister up in Greenville, SC. We went to lots of different shops downtown, and one of my favorite stops was a local bakery. Huge surprise, I know. I saw this cake there and I loved the icing. It seemed that the green color faded ever so gradually up the sides of the tiers.

To me, the only reasonable response to seeing a cake like this was to try to replicate it myself! Wow. I didn’t realize just how hard it would be to make such straight and even lines all the way around (and up) the cake. Much easier said than done. But, I am glad I attempted to re-create this beauty. It was fun, and my husband’s office got a free cake out of the deal. ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s how mine turned out:

I started by “dirty icing” each tier. Crumbs were showing through, but I just needed a thin layer of icing to add the stripes onto.

After mixing up 4 shades of purple icing, I went up, up, up, and away!

Random Thought of the Day: Lie to Me Season 3 is on Netflix. This makes me very happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Up Next: Something Halloween-ish.

One Response to “Fading Color Scheme”

  1. Mr. Onyourcake October 17, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Yummy as always and loved by the office

Leave a Reply

