Hello Kitty Pops

25 Sep

My favorite baking site, bakerella.com, featured some Hello Kitty cakepops quite a while back. They looked really cute, and I used to collect Hello Kitty stuff as a kid. So I figured I’d make them one day…but they really weren’t an urgent priority. But lately I’ve been thinking about them nearly every single day at work. A certain 2nd grade teacher really likes kitties, and all week I’ve been seeing her with a Hello Kitty necklace or lunchbox. Seeing that cute little cat’s face so often made me think back about the cakepops so I had to try some this weekend.

I started with the basic cakepop mixture but instead of scooping them into balls I rolled them into more of an oval shape.

I really like chocolate cake pops better, so it’s a shame I couldn’t use chocolate cake here. But I knew that chocolate would show through once I dipped these in the white chocolate coating. So, yellow cake it is. Then I attached these to sticks and attached Reese’s peanut butter morsels as a shape for the ears. The instructions from bakerella.com say to use white chocolate chips. I just didn’t want to buy an entire bag of white chocolate chips and end up using only a dozen of them. So I used Reese’s morsels, because I already had them on hand.

Once the attached “ears” had time to dry I dipped the entire thing in white chocolate almond bark.

Kitty’s distinctive features come in the forms of black gel icing for the eyes and whiskers, a mini m&m for the nose, and a bow made of 2 jumbo heart sprinkles and one more mini m&m. I hope you like these, Stacia! These are just for you. 🙂

Up Next: Maybe the pillow cookies I mentioned last week…or maybe not. Maybe something that involves a cupcake with Goldfish crackers on top. Sounds intriguing, right? 😉

Random Thought of the Day: Thank goodness for my nice hubby. I realized after I already had everything strewn out on the counter for my cakepop assembly line that I was actually out of white almond bark. (How did I not realize this?!?) He went to the grocery store and got some for me so that I could keep working on the pops and not have to stop half way through. 🙂

2 Responses to “Hello Kitty Pops”

  1. Jessica Llanes September 28, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    so cute! I’ve never tried any pops that require extra candy pieces for the ears, I would be afraid the candy pieces would fall off when I dipped them. Did you chill them again after you added the ears? Or did they hold on just fine? I’ll just have to be brave and try it ; )

    • icingonyourcake October 1, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      I did chill the pops for another 10 minutes or so after I added the ears. They probably would have been fine once they dried though. They seemed pretty sturdy. I just figured it wouldn’t hurt to chill them….and I only had a small amount of cake scraps to work with. If I had a full batch of pops, I probably would have tried some without the extra chilling just to see if it worked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

