As Easy as Pie!

2 Sep

Have you ever heard this saying? It’s as easy as pie? I always thought the saying was a little odd. Depending on the type of pie that is in question, I don’t think they are all that “easy.” Of course, I don’t make many pies….but to make a really good one from scratch seems like it would require some effort. Making the dough, cutting out strips of it for the lattice design on top, peeling and chopping apples for apple pie, etc. I actually looked into this saying. As it turns out, the saying isn’t about making pie. It originated as meaning something is as easy as eating pie. Now that I can understand. Am I the only one who didn’t know that?

Anyways, this week I’m featuring a pie that really is easy all around. The making and the eating. It’s one of those no bake pies that true pastry gurus would surely frown upon. But I’m not a true pastry guru. And the only part about this pie that made me frown was when the last piece was gone.

I found the recipe here.

It starts with crushing oreos and then adding melted butter to form a pie crust. This is the only part of the pie you actually have to bake, and it only bakes for 5 minutes. Just enough to set the crust. So I don’t really think that counts as baking anyways. 🙂

The filling is started with a cup of peanut butter and a package of softened cream cheese.

 

 

Add to that some powdered sugar, and then a small tub of cool whip.

Pour the filling into the crust and let it set up in the fridge. There you have it. As easy as pie. 🙂 It’s not the prettiest piece of pie I’ve ever seen, but it sure was tasty.

Up Next: A new cupcake favorite of mine 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: Enjoy your THREE day weekend. I know I will. 😀

Leave a Reply

