School Spirit

27 Aug

The 2011-2012 school year is officially in full swing! I had a successful first week back to school, so for this post I’m featuring the cake that I made for my grade level’s teachers during pre-planning. It was a simple design, nothing extraordinary. I knew that if I picked something too extravagant during the week before school started I’d just be too busy to do a good job of it.

I started with mixing together some fondant in our school colors: green and yellow. I mixed two different shades of green because I needed 3 colors for this design.

The cake itself was a simple yellow cake with my sister’s new buttercream icing recipe. YUM. I didn’t want to completely cover it in fondant, but I needed some fondant for the outer design. My husband helped me cut out lots of polka dots. The larger end of my cupcake icing tip was just the perfect size.

Once they were all cut, I just had to attach them to the sides of the cake in a pattern. Our school mascot is a rocket, so being cheesy as I sometimes am, I had to work that into the message on top.

I think the top turned out looking a little Plain Jane compared to all of the colors on the side. I’ll have to work on the top more next time I made the sides of the cake so colorful. 🙂

To anyone working in a school or anyone who has school aged children, I hope this is a great year for you! 😀

Up Next: Can’t decide. Maybe a new twist on cheesecake pops? Maybe mocha icing? Maybe something else entirely?

Random Thought of the Day: Next week is a big one! My birthday, a 3 day weekend because of Labor Day, and college football starting. Should be fun times. 🙂

One Response to “School Spirit”

  1. Jessica Llanes August 27, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    SOO cute!!! I could see this with three shades of pink. You probably are not surprised by that 🙂

Leave a Reply

