Goat Cheese + Chocolate? Yes, please!

20 Aug

A few months ago I saw an episode of “Throwdown” where Bobby Flay had to challenge a couple of sisters on their brownies. Being a huge fan of brownies, the episode really caught my attention! The sisters had a little dessert shop and they sold several types of brownies, but the one they focused on for the show was their signature recipe: brownies with a goat cheese swirl on top. I was a little skeptical, but the judges approved. I immediately thought of a friend of mine who always claims that she’ll eat anything if it has enough goat cheese on top. So I kept this idea in the back of my mind to make for her later.

Well, later finally  happened. 🙂 I searched online and I didn’t find the exact recipe from the Throwdown episode, but I did find a recipe that looked rather promising. I was actually surprised at how easy it was too! The finished product looked very sophisticated for a dish that’s so easy to make. The full recipe can be found here.

The swirl is made by mixing together goat cheese, powdered sugar, flour, and an egg.

The brownie part is a very fudgy recipe. Just the kind I like. 🙂 But if you are a cakey type of brownie person, this might not be your favorite. I liked that it also had chocolate chips mixed in, and they added a nice texture. Start by whisking together some cocoa, sugar, powdered sugar, sea salt, chocolate chips, and flour. Then add some eggs, water, oil, and a little extract. The recipe calls for chocolate extract, but I didn’t have any so I just used vanilla instead.

This is what it will look like after you’ve dumped half of the brownie mixture into the pan, poured the swirl mixture over that, and then spooned the rest of the brownie batter on top. I also used a rubber spatula to give it a quick swirl. Don’t swirl it too much, though. You don’t want to completely mix the colors together.

And this is what is looks like after coming out of the oven.

Pretty tasty looking, right?

Hello, gorgeous. 🙂

These brownies really were just that simple. I’d make them again in a heartbeat. They only take a few more minutes than a box mix. Give them a try.

Up Next: Back to school!

Random Thought of the Day: I’ve been making smoothies pretty often in the last couple of weeks. I guess I got on a smoothie kick or something. What flavors should I try? What is your favorite?

2 Responses to “Goat Cheese + Chocolate? Yes, please!”

  1. Jessica Llanes August 20, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    I saw that episode of Throwdown too! I wonder if I could use cream cheese in this recipe instead? I just love cream cheese 🙂
    My favorite smoothie flavor is strawberry peach. I don’t see a lot of other people mix those together, but they should-it’s great!

Leave a Reply

