Chocolate Mint Thumbprints

21 Jul

Chocolate and mint just go together so well that I keep looking for new recipes with this flavor combo. I’m also currently looking for new cookie recipes because I don’t have many cookies that I can make from scratch. While looking for new cookie ideas I picked this recipe to try because I’ve never made thumbprints before. I thought they would be fun to make, and I figured that if all else failed I could always eat the leftover Andes bars that I needed to buy to make these. 🙂 They are just so small and cute and delicious that I could see myself eating a couple dozen at a time. Does anyone else feel this drawn to the little Andes bars? No? Just me?

Here’s how it goes…

In a microwave-safe bowl, melt the bittersweet and mint chocolates at 30 second intervals until nearly melted. Whisk until smooth, then let cool.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour with the cocoa and salt.

In the bowl of a standing electric mixer fitted with the paddle, beat the butter until creamy.

Add the granulated sugar and brown sugar and beat at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in egg yolks and vanilla. Scrape the chocolate into the mixer and beat just until incorporated. Add the dry ingredients and beat on low speed, scraping down the sides of the bowl occasionally, until smooth.

Transfer the dough to a sheet of plastic wrap and pat it into a 7″ disc. Wrap and refrigerate until well-chilled, at least one hour.

Preheat oven to 350 and position racks on upper and lower thirds of oven.

Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. Spread the Turbinado sugar in a shallow dish. Scoop up tbsps. of dough and roll into balls, then roll in the sugar and place on cookie sheets.

 Use your thumb to make an indentation in the middle of each cookie. This is the fun part. 🙂

Bake for 10 minutes, until slightly firm. Remove from oven. Using a melon-baller, press center of cookies again. Return to oven, shifting the cookie sheets and bake for 5 more minutes, just until dry but not hard. Transfer cookie sheets to racks to cool completely.

Put the white chocolate in a heatproof cup. Put the cream into a microwave-safe bowl and microwave on high power until boiling, about 30 seconds. Pour the hot cream over the white chocolate and let stand until melted, then whisk until smooth. Stir in peppermint extract. This is the part where I forgot to take a picture.

Fill center of cooled cookies with white chocolate mixture and refrigerate until set, about 30 minutes. Store in airtight container for up to 1 week. This is the part where you decide that you want to make these cookies too, because they just look so darn delicious.

Up Next: What kind of cookie should I try next??? It has to be something interesting. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Bleh. I think the first thing I should do to be effective with my time is not read this book. I’m supposed to be reading it over the summer, and I’m making an honest attempt at it. But I’ve been working on it little by little for over a month now and it never takes me a month to finish a book!

One Response to “Chocolate Mint Thumbprints”

  1. Jessica Llanes July 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    For a really interesting cookie, I think you should try PB&J cookies. I found a recipe earlier, if you’d like. Or, I say try a cookie with 3 different types of chocolate. I don’t have a recipe for anything like that, but it sounds like it would be delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

