Happy 4th of July!

3 Jul

I’ve been waiting to make this cake for an entire year! Last year just after the 4th of July I saw a cake online that absolutely made me drool. I knew I wanted to try to copy it, and then spent about an hour searching the internet for how to even bake the darn thing. It looked complicated, but I was determined that I would pull it off. That being said, I clearly can’t take any credit for this design. I am not nearly creative enough to dream up something like this.

Anyways, let me show you how to pull off this kind of magic.  🙂 Start by baking a red velvet cake and a white cake. Then cut into very thin layers (as thin as you can get). Stack them alternately, with a thin layer of cool whip between layers. The goal is to get 13 total layers. I ended up with 11. (Close enough). My sister’s genius idea of putting the thin layers of cake in the freezer for a bit before stacking them was a big help. That way, when flipping these teeny slices of the cake onto each other they weren’t so delicate. Thanks Jess!

After all the hard work of stacking those together, you actually  have to cut part of it off. 🙂 I took a very small round cake pan (4 inches in diameter) and placed it on top of my cake. I centered it as best as I could, and then cut all around it. You want to leave the center 4 inches intact, but cut away the outside rim.

That was totally confusing to describe. I hope the picture made more sense than my rambling did. Now, rewind to the baking part. In addition to the white and red velvet cake, you also must bake one more white cake. But this time, add blue coloring to the batter before sticking it in the oven. Do you see where I’m going with this? 😀 Take the same small round cake pan and place it on top of the blue cake layer. This time, cut out the center portion and leave the outside intact. Basically, you are cutting away the middle to make your blue cake layer look like a blue donut. Then, carefully place this blue cake ring around the red and white cake that has already been carved out.

Now all of the behind the scenes work is done. Time to frost and decorate. Jess also had a great idea of how to decorate this cake, but by the time I got to this point I was running short on time and icing. I figured I better find something quick so that I wasn’t still frosting the cake when my guests arrived. I decided on a cake stencil that I haven’t used in over a year and forgot that I even had. I thought the design looked a little like fireworks, so I thought it would be appropriate. Unfortunately I was out of blue sprinkles, so I had to use only red. But it worked out pretty well. 🙂

Here’s where the fun part starts with this cake. Time to slice! (And cross your fingers that everything is stacked like it should be on the inside. I was very nervous to cut into this and see if it really worked!)

 

 

Yes! It worked! It was worth all that time I spent reading and re-reading the instructions for this until I finally figured out how to do it.  🙂

Random Thought of the Day: Not so random, but of course this post is for anyone who is serving or has served in the armed forces. We would not have a holiday to celebrate tomorrow if it weren’t for all of the sacrifices you make. Thank you for doing what you do, even though we don’t recognize you for it nearly enough. Also, thanks to all of the families of those in the military. You rock.

Up Next: I’ll be sharing some cakepops that I made this past week. They were pretty cute, almost as cute as the friends I made them for. 🙂 They will have to wait until next week to make an appearance here, since the flag cake was more urgent. :p

One Response to “Happy 4th of July!”

  1. Jessica Llanes July 3, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I LOOOOOOVE this!!!

Leave a Reply

