Mini Trifles

27 Jun

A few months ago I kind of got into this trifle phase. I made a strawberry one, an apple one, and I think another one that I can’t remember off the top of my head. I had an idea for a new trifle a while back and I’ve just been letting the concept simmer for a while,  until I came up with the perfect way to pull it off. I was very proud of this idea, because it was actually an original one for me. Lots of times when I make really cool cakes, I simply copy someone else’s designs from cakecentral.com. 😉 But this time, I came up with the idea all by myself. 🙂 I’ve been wanting to make a banana pudding trifle, consisting of layers of: banana cake (very similar to a banana nut bread), vanilla pudding, cool whip, and of course vanilla wafers. We all know it just can’t be banana pudding without the wafers.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago when I went to Crisper’s with a couple of friends. They had little mini cake desserts that they sold in individual sized square glasses. I’ve seen the same type thing at several restaurants, so most of you probably know what I’m talking about. Almost like a shot glass but full of cake. Then it hit me: individual sized banana pudding trifles. Yes. This would be a winner. I searched all around for the best serving dish I could find, and it turns out that it’s not too simple to find a mini cake glass. I finally found one I was happy with at a party store.

Of course, once all of the different components are ready the assembly is quite simple. I baked a banana cake, whisked together some vanilla pudding, and bought cool whip and mini vanilla wafers. Please tell me that you’ve already figured out that I would be using mini wafers for individual sized trifles. There’s just no sense in using the regular sized ones when making mini desserts. If you don’t agree with this, I don’t think you are allowed to read the rest of this blog.

Just kidding.

(kind of)

Here’s my little triffle-making-assembly-line in place:

If you look closely at the layer of banana cake, you’ll see a cookie cutter. I happened to already have a cutter almost the same diameter as the glass. So it was very easy to cut out cake slices to layer in the dish. Score!

I made two layers of each item in my mini-glass and then topped it off with a garnish of 1 banana slice and 1 wafer. The final product looked like this. How cute is this???

Just to give you a better idea of the size of the dessert…

Sorry in advance for the terrible lighting in this next picture. If the picture had turned out half as good as the mini trifles it would’ve been golden.

Now, we all know (generally speaking) the smaller a dessert is, the cuter it is. But…the bigger a dessert is, the happier I am when eating it. 😀 So with that in mind, I also made a few mini trifles that I could enjoy for more than just a couple of nibbles. They weren’t quite as cute, but they turned out pretty well and I still liked how they were individual sized. I made 8, only because that’s the number of glasses that came in the pack. 🙂 I tried to garnish the top of each one just a little differently. Again, the lighting is terrible but you get the idea…

And there you have it. My very own original dessert idea. 🙂 Does that look like a nice ending to a summer time meal or what?

Random Thought of the Day: I’m loving summertime. Nice vacation from work, family visiting from out of town, ice cream, and of course George Strait on my radio. Good times.

Up Next: Probably something festive for the Fourth of July. Maybe even something from my newly hired design consultant, Melanie.
(Melanie, I use the word “hired” loosely, as there not actually a paycheck attached to your title 😀 )

2 Responses to “Mini Trifles”

  1. Melanie June 28, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Thanks Jennifer! I am excited to see your next creation.

  2. Jessica Llanes June 29, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I don’t even like bananas and these are super cute! I love the different garnishes on top 🙂

Leave a Reply

