Another Groom’s Cake!

19 Jun

This weekend I was able to make another groom’s cake! It was actually quite a last-minute request, so I didn’t even know until Friday morning that I would be making a groom’s cake for a wedding taking place today! How exciting. πŸ™‚ I wasn’t able to put quite as many good details on this one as the last, since it was on short notice. But…I did have time to make some fondant handcuffs. My first ever, and I really like how they turned out!

Not only did I get to make this groom’s cake, but I also got to pick out the design again. πŸ˜€ I was told that there should be handcuffs, because the groom is a correctional officer with the Bay County Sheriff’s Office. Also, his favorite color is green. How perfect…..because they wear green shirts. I tried to make the sheet cake look like the front of his uniform shirt, complete with a collar, buttons, and name badge. Here’s how it turned out!

Those handcuffs really are my favorite part. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

I was happy with how well the details came through, even after the fondant had dried. I used a couple of different sized icing tips to make the indentations.Β After the fondant dried, I painted them with luster dust to make them look shiny and metallic. Luster dust is my favorite. πŸ˜€

Up Next: Something Peachy. Not quite as delicious as my granny’s homemade peace ice cream……but it will do. πŸ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! I wasn’t able to see my wonderful dad today, but I did talk to him on the phone for a little while. He’s the best! If you haven’t had the chance to see or talk to your dad today, don’t forget about it. πŸ™‚ I did get to see my father in law today, and he’s pretty awesome too. πŸ™‚ To my dad and all the others out there, I hope your day is wonderful!

One Response to “Another Groom’s Cake!”

  1. Jessica Llanes June 20, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Turned out GREAT!

Leave a Reply

