I hear wedding bells!

12 Jun

This weekend I made 200 cupcakes and a groom’s cake for someone’s wedding. How exciting! I’ve made just a couple of wedding cakes before, but this was the very first wedding I’d baked for that wasn’t for a family member. 🙂 The bride decided she wanted cupcakes instead of a cake at the wedding, so I made 200 cupcakes in 4 different flavors. Talk about a busy oven! She also wanted a very small cake to cut at the reception (didn’t want to miss out on the Kodak moment!) and a groom’s cake that looked like a snare drum.

I did NOT take  pictures of any of this stuff in the making. I was busy enough trying to get it all done, so I figured I didn’t have time to stop and snap pictures at different stages in the decorating process. But I at least want to show you the finished products.

The bride actually let me pick the design for the small cutting cake. How lucky am I? I don’t know many bakers who get to choose a design for a wedding cake. It took a long time for me to decide what to do, but I ended up picking something that went along with her cupcakes. The bride’s sister made some cupcake picks to decorate them with, and there were lots of different designs. But I noticed that a lot of them had a C, the couple’s last initial, and some had flowers. So I decided to put both flowers and a C on the small cake so that it went with the same theme.

The groom’s cake really took some planning ahead. I made the drumsticks and the silver pieces for the outside of the drum (I have no idea what the actual name is for those?!) several days in advance. I wanted them to air dry so that they would become pretty firm. I didn’t want droopy drumsticks, and I definitely didn’t want the silver pieces to fall of the side of the cake. After the silver pieces dried I painted them with something called luster dust, which made them look shiny and metallic. 🙂 It’s basically an edible glitter. It comes in a powder but can be mixed with vanilla extract to create the consistency of a paint. Since all of these parts were made ahead of time, once it was time to bake the cake the decorating was pretty quick! I iced the cake and covered it in homemade marshmallow fondant and then painted the side with brown gel coloring. The groom wanted a wood grain type look to the sides. Once the brown color dried I piped the Pearl logo on top, attached the silver pieces, and placed the drumsticks on top!

Here’s a view of all of the cupcakes together on the table. It was an 8 foot long table, but still a squeeze to fit 200 cupcakes along with the 2 cakes!

Last but not least, a picture of me showing off my handiwork while wearing my super stylish chef’s jacket. 😉

Random Thought of the Day: My mother in law’s birthday was Friday, so between all of the other baking I had going on I wanted to make her a birthday cake. I decided to do a pound cake, and the recipe seriously is fantastic! I’ve posted it here  before, and it’s by Guy Fieri from the Food Network. I know I probably already wrote this when I posted the recipe the first time, but if you like pound cake you *seriously* need to try this recipe! It is amazing.

Next Up: Either something for Father’s Day or something with a gumpaste flower. I can’t decide yet.

The End 🙂

2 Responses to “I hear wedding bells!”

  1. Jessica Llanes June 12, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    GREAT WORK! As usual 🙂

  2. Nichole June 13, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    The cupcakes and cake look great. But what I like best is you in the chef’s jacket.

Leave a Reply

