Peanut Butter Frosting

5 Jun

Look at that. Beautiful. All you need for creamy, peanut butter yumminess. I think you’re really going to like this recipe. 🙂

Like most people, I really enjoy the class combo of peanut butter and chocolate.  I’ve posted a few desserts here already that feature both, and now I’m bringing it to you once again. A friend of mine celebrated her birthday yesterday, and she really likes desserts with peanut butter. Of course, I don’t pass up a chance to bake birthday treats, so I was excited to decide on something to make for her. I decided on chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting. I used my sister’s chocolate cake recipe and used a peanut butter filling recipe that I found on cakecentral.com If you’d like the link, you can find it here. I highly recommend it. 😀  http://cakecentral.com/recipes/2316/peant-butter-cup-filling The only change I made was to add a little more powdered sugar. If I was going to use this as a filling for a cupcake (as the recipe suggests) I would follow the directions exactly. By adding the few tablespoons of extra powdered sugar, it made a slightly more stiff texture so that it would be the right consistency for icing.

It’s pretty easy to make.  You begin by mixing together the brown sugar, creamy peanut butter, butter, milk, and Reese’s peanut butter chips in a saucepan. This time I used dark brown sugar because it was what I had in the pantry already, but I’ve also used light brown sugar for this recipe. Either one will work just fine.

 

 

It’s important to keep stirring this as it cooks so that it doesn’t scorch. Once it’s reached a boiling point, you can turn the heat down and let it cook for one more minute. When it’s done cooking it will look something like this.

This mixture will need to cool down a bit before the final step. When it is lukewarm you can mix in the powdered sugar and vanilla. Sorry in advance for the horrible lighting in this picture.

Then it’s ready to spread (or pipe!) onto the cupcakes. Yum! This recipe really is easy, and it also got good reviews. I hope at least one  person who reads this decides to try it someday 😉

Up Next: I’m making over 200 cupcakes for a wedding next weekend, along with the groom’s cake. I’ll be posting  pictures of the finished products. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: Yesterday my husband and I lost our sweet dalmatian who was 12. If you have a pet, give them an extra hug/kiss/belly rub/treat for me today in honor of Mandy. Remember to cherish them while they are around. She was a dog I’d rescued from a shelter, so if you have ever adopted a shelter animal, or even taken in a stray……high five to you. 🙂

3 Responses to “Peanut Butter Frosting”

  1. Jessica Llanes June 5, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    These look super yummy!!! Nice icing swirls : )

  2. Nichole June 13, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    These were very tasty after our race!

  3. Sarah White June 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I love peanut butter! And with chocolate- always good! in fact I just finished a Reese’s! Someday when I get back to baking I will have to try this!

    I too have adopted/rescued 3 dogs. We lost our Rudy last fall after 12 years. I know how you feel. Thankfully we have 2 young dogs to fill the hole a little!

Leave a Reply

