Cutest Giraffe Cake I’ve Ever Made

7 May

In all honesty, this cake doesn’t have much competition. It has to be the cutest giraffe cake I’ve ever made because it is the ONLY giraffe cake I’ve ever made. But it’s still pretty darn cute (if I do say so myself). This past week there was a baby shower for one of my co-workers and I was asked to make the cake. Of course I was more than happy to say yes. Who can turn down a good excuse to decorate a cake? I found out that the mother to be is decorating the baby’s room in a jungle theme, and she has mostly giraffes. I thought I would try making a giraffe out of a fondant/gumpaste mix and using it as a little cake topper. I’d only made one other fondant figure before, and it wasn’t even for a cake. I just made one to see how hard it might be, and to practice. So this would be my first fondant figure that actually made a public debut. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started by mixing together the colors I needed into some fondant. This actually took longer than I would like to admit. I kept tweaking the colors until I thought they were just right. To me, this was the most boring part of the whole thing.

Then I used a good bit of the yellow fondant to form a body and head for the giraffe. Since this was a pretty small figure, I just made the entire thing from the fondant. If it was much bigger than it was, I would have needed to form the animal out of cake or rice krispy treats and then cover it with fondant. But I wasn’t really for all that just yet. Maybe I’ll tackle something like that over the summer while I have plenty of time to play with all of my cake toys. ๐Ÿ™‚

I kept adding more and more details and it started to look more like a giraffe and less like a yellow blob. All in all, this figure took me about an hour and a half. Probably because I kept trying to re-work the legs to make sure everything was in proportion. I think once I have more practice with fondant figures I’d be able to make this in half an hour or so.

Once I added the eyes and the spots,ย I was just about done. *Please note the “stitches” that I pressed into the fondant on the front of the giraffe’s belly. This was one of my favorite parts. So if you don’t notice it at all, that would make me sad. Ok, thanks for looking back at the picture to make sure you saw it. That makes me feel better.* ๐Ÿ™‚

Truth be told, if the mother to be was expecting a boy, I’d be done at this point. But, because she is having a girl I needed to add a little pink bow. Because everyone knows that the only thing cuter than a baby giraffe is a baby giraffe with a bow by her ear.

Ta da! I placed this little cutieย on top of a sheet cake that I’d iced in green. I also added some little pink fondant flowers around the edge and the baby’s name on top. The mom-t0-be was very happy with how it turned out, and so was I. The best part about making cakes for people is seeing them smile because they really like it. Of course, who could stand to not smile at that little pink bow? I think it’s pretty much impossible. ๐Ÿ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY! I don’t know how many people who read this post are moms, but for all who are: I hope you have a fantastic Mother’s Day!

Next Up: Cupcakes for a wedding shower at school. Hopefully they will be just as impressive as the giraffe. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to “Cutest Giraffe Cake I’ve Ever Made”

  1. Jessica Llanes May 7, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I’m still in love with this giraffe!!! I can’t wait to try a few little fondant figures myself ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Melissa May 15, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    That is soo cute! Jennifer you are so talented!

Leave a Reply

