Burgers and Fries

1 May

For some reason I find food that looks like other food really fun (in kind of a weird way?). I once made my husband (back when he was only my boyfriend) a cookie cake that looked like a pizza. It was a huge chocolate chip cookie with red icing on top (to look like pizza sauce), covered in grated white chocolate  (to look like cheese). I just realized that I have a lot of parenthesis in this post so far. But…that’s off topic. 🙂 I don’t know why I find this so cute, but I do. So today I made something that I think is even better than the pizza cake. Baskets of burgers and fries (except that they are really cupcakes and sugar cookies).

I started with a batch of cupcakes and a pan of brownies.

After the brownies cooled I cut them into “hamburger patties” using a small round cookie cutter.

After mixing together some red, yellow, and green icing I was ready to assemble the burgers. I cut each cupcake in half, horizontally. This created my top and bottom hamburger buns. Then I added a brownie circle. Squirted on some “ketchup”…

…then finished it off with some “mustard” and “lettuce.” I was actually really happy with how the lettuce turned out. I used an icing tip that is normally used for piping flower leaves. The shape of the tip gave it a nice wavy texture, so I thought it looked pretty realistic (not to mention looking MUCH tastier than real lettuce).

I didn’t *quite* faint at the cuteness of these cupcakes. So I kept baking and made fries to go with it. 🙂 I’m generally not to good with cookies, so I played it safe and used a bagged mix for these. I rolled them out and cut them with a pizza cutter. Thank goodness that one of my favorite bloggers had already posted these fries a while back, so I had some good tips to help me along the way. If you’ve never seen www.bakerella.com, I highly recommend it! Following her advice, I took some of the cookie slices back off of the pan (and saved for the next batch to go in the oven) so that the fries didn’t all bake together when they started rising in the oven.

After they came out of the oven I rubbed a little bit of sugar on them to look like salt. I couldn’t get over how well these turned out! Sugar cookie french fries are adorable. 🙂

I put them both in a mini loaf baking liner. I’m assuming these are actually intended for individual sized loaves of banana bread or something like that? I’d never really noticed them before. But I saw them at Hobby Lobby yesterday and thought they would be nice to hold my cupcakes and cookies in. There you have it! Baskets of burgers and fries.  🙂 I’ll be taking these to school tomorrow to share with a few teachers. 🙂 I hope they  like them as much as I do!

That’s all I have time for tonight!

Up Next: A baby shower cake that I’ll be making on Tuesday.

Random Thought of the Day: Have anyone ever seen the Food Network show Desert First? I saw it for the first time yesterday morning and I loved it! I’m pretty sure that if the host and I ever met we’d become BFFs. 😉

3 Responses to “Burgers and Fries”

  1. Mr. on your cake May 1, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    These things are awesome and delicious 🙂

  2. Melanie May 2, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Yes!!! I can’t wait to try some burger and fries for lunch!!!

  3. Jessica Llanes May 2, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    These are the cutest things I’ve seen today. And I saw a 3 year old a couple hours ago so that’s hard to beat.
    Also, they make me think of that silly show “What-a-burger” that used to come on Nickolodeon. Not sure why because burgers could be from anywhere.

Leave a Reply

