Easter Goodies :)

23 Apr

First, let me start by saying that I don’t believe the true meaning of Easter is bunnies, colorful eggs, and baskets filled with chocolate. I believe in Jesus and his miraculous defeat of the grave. He is alive and that is what Easter is meant to celebrate! However, on the other hand….I see no harm in baking cute Easter goodies. 🙂 I mean, let’s face it. Easter eggs make more adorable treats than empty graves. So there you have it. My entire 2 cents about the holiday. 🙂

I wanted to make something for my class. Several of my students had mentioned to me that they were excited about Easter and that they had been learning about it at church, were going shopping for new dresses, and already had baskets for egg hunts. So I thought it would be fun to bring them an Easter surprise on Friday. I thought about some cupcakes that I made last year and knew they would be perfect. They are easy, but were also a big hit.

It start, of course, with baking cupcakes. I realized after I started mixing up the batter that I had no Easter colored baking cups. So bright red ones would have to do. 🙂 (I got no complaints about the wrappers not being Easter themed from the 1st graders! Ha )

My next step was to mix together some green icing. I usually mix up my own icing, but you could make these cupcakes with store bought icing too. Just add a little extra powdered sugar so that the icing is stiff enough to hold the design.

I know this picture is a little blurry, and I wish you could see it better. I used an icing tip that has lots of little holes in it. That way, when the icing is squeezed out of it, it will resemble grass. As in Easter grass. 🙂

And the last step is to add a few jellybeans to the top to look like Easter eggs. 🙂 I used Starburst jellybeans, because those are my personal favorite. Any brand would do, but just think about this: You get to eat all of the leftover jellybeans. So choose your jellybeans wisely, my friends.

That’s all folks! Enjoy your holiday.

Up Next: Another cupcake design. A very cute one. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: I ran in my first ever 5K today! It was exciting to finish the whole thing, and finish it without walking any. I finished in 33:34, which I thought was a decent time for my first race. I’m planning on running another one in a month. Hopefully I can finish just a little faster. 🙂

One Response to “Easter Goodies :)”

  1. Jessica Llanes April 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Very cute : )

Leave a Reply

