Very “Special” Cookies

16 Apr

I went to the grocery store last night. I bought NOTHING to make a dessert with to post here on the blog. So I decided to be resourceful. I tried to figure out what I could make with ingredients on hand, and not make another trip to the grocery store. Not that it’s a big hassle. I just wanted to be a little lazy on this nice Saturday afternoon. 🙂 I had a couple of boxes of Special K cereal and I thought to myself, I could make rice krispy treats with that. I remember my mom making rice krispy treats out of lots of different cereals when I was little. I loved them. So I guess they weren’t really “rice krispy” treats anymore. But I enjoyed lots of Honey Nut Cheerios treats. 🙂 I checked the pantry and I had plenty of marshmallows to make this happen.

Then I thought….I wonder what else I could make with this cereal? I decided to do a little search online, and then if nothing interesting came up I’d go back to the rice krispy treats plan. As it turns out, there are several different recipes that I found for cookies made with it. I decided on a no-bake kind. I think those are easier because you don’t have to worry about them being over cooked. 🙂 I like chewy cookies, not crunchy so I don’t like it if I overbake cookies and they get hard. Here’s the recipe I decided to try:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Special-K-Cookies/Detail.aspx

The two stars of the show are Special K cereal and peanut butter. Sounds good to me already. 🙂

I bring a peanut butter and jelly sandwich to school nearly every day for lunch. It’s my favorite and I never get tired of it. And I eat cereal just about every morning for breakfast. It just never gets old. So I think this should be a perfect combo. 🙂 I did tweak the recipe just a tad, to use what I had on hand already. I didn’t have any creamy peanut butter, so I used crunchy. I figured it wouldn’t hurt the texture any, maybe even help it out. And I used the vanilla and almonds flavor of the cereal. It has a little crunch to it also from the almonds. So, in my best Iron Chef America food critic voice, I thought in my head “The  peanut and almonds will work together to give it a nice depth of flavor. The two different kind of nuts will just bring out the flavor so much more and really enhance the dish.” 😛

The first step is to stir together light corn syrup, sugar, vanilla, and a little salt in a microwavable bowl. I was interested to see what it would look like after cooking it for 4 minutes. The recipe said that the corn syrup would begin to boil in the microwave and the sugar would dissolved. I’m pretty sure I’d never boiled corn syrup in the microwave before. It became a very smooth mixture and pretty translucent.

The peanut butter gets stirred in next….

…and lastly the cereal.

How easy is that?! Judging by the look of this mixture, I guessed that this recipe turned out to be very similar to a rice krispy treat anyways. I wonder if boiling the corn syrup and sugar in the microwave created something very similar to a marshmallow? Whatever the case, it looks yummy. 🙂

I dropped spoonfuls of this onto wax paper to cool. According to the recipe, they’re all done.

Even though this was the end of the recipe’s instruction, the picture of the cookies that was posted with the recipe had one more thing. Melted chocolate drizzled on top. I thought this was a FANTASTIC idea.

I really liked the look of this.  But why stop there? Why not dip the entire cookie into chocolate? It’s just getting better and better. 🙂

One cookie, 3 ways: no chocolate, a little chocolate, or lots of chocolate. 🙂 Which one would you prefer?

And here’s the ironic part. I mentioned that I was trying to be resourceful and use ingredients that I already had at  home to save an extra trip to the grocery store. And it worked. Kind of. The recipe called for 1 1/3 cups of peanut butter, and once I scooped that much out of the jar I had none left. So even though I didn’t have to make a trip to the store to make these cookies, I’ll need to go buy more peanut butter before Monday so that I can make my peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch. 🙂 So, there was a little bit of a backfire. But, I found a completely new recipe idea in the process. So not a failed attempt. 🙂

Up Next: Something for easter.

Random Thought of the Day: 5 more weeks of school and then summer!

One Response to “Very “Special” Cookies”

  1. Melanie April 16, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Please bring left overs to school Monday- I love peanut butter!!!

Leave a Reply

