Take Me Out to the Ballgame :)

3 Apr

If you know me very well at all, you know that I was excited for the return of baseball season this week. πŸ™‚ I’m a huge Braves fan, so of course this week’s post has to do with baseball. I made a few cake pops to celebrate the season’s opening series. If you missed my previous post about cake pops, they are pretty simple little treats (depending on how elaborately you want to decorate them). They are crumbled up cake pieces mixed with just a little frosting, and then dipped in chocolate coating. All on a stick. Kind of like a cakeΒ  lollipop. πŸ™‚

Here’s what I started with:

Three (traditional) round cake pops, and 3 in the shape of jerseys. I made these by using a onesie cookie cutter. I just cut the bottom edge off straight instead of leaving the little leg holes. I had this from a baby shower cake I did last year, and never realized that baby cookie cutters could be useful for baseball season. πŸ™‚ I used a little melted chocolate to secure the lollipop sticks and then placed them in the freezer until they were firm enough to dip.

I dipped them in melted white chocolate bark.

The baseballs were pretty easy. My sweet husband helped mix together some red icing while I was working on melting the chocolate bark. All I had to do was add a few stitches, and these were good to go.

Then for the jerseys. These were a little more tedious, but so much fun. πŸ™‚ I started by trying to make a jersey that said “Braves.” As you can see, I ran out of room. So instead, it said “Brave.” Oops. Haha. Close enough, I think.

Then I made one with a tomahawk. I figured I couldn’t run out of room for letters ifΒ I didn’t include a word. πŸ™‚

Last but not least, I made this one to dedicate to my sister who loves Chipper Jones*. Actually, I can’t say too much bad about him myself. He’s a legend. This one’s for you Kasi.

*Real story: I actually wanted to make one that said “Heyward.” But I thought that might not end well. Since I already ran out of room for “Braves”, I thought I better go with a player’s name with less letters than Heyward. So I settled for Chipper. He’s an alright guy though, so I can’t complain. πŸ™‚

So that’s it for this week. GO BRAVES! This is our season. I just know it is. We’re going to be the World Series Champions of 2011. πŸ™‚

Yes, I’ve been saying that every season. But one of these days it’s going to come true!

P.S. – My password for my computer at work may or may not contain the number 95. Since that was the last year the Braves won the world series, I’m hoping it brings them good luck. πŸ™‚

Up Next: Something Fancy. πŸ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: I’m going on a field trip tomorrow. Hope it goes well! We are going to see a play.

The End.

2 Responses to “Take Me Out to the Ballgame :)”

  1. Mom April 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Go Braves! and Go Jenn! Love ’em!

  2. Jessica Llanes April 3, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    These are AWESOME!!! I’m actually wearing my Chipper Jones shirt today. Don’t judge me. My McCann one was dirty because I already wore it this week. Yes, I’m talking about the one that is 6 years old and about to fall apart at the seams. But I can’t bring myself to throw it out until that actually happens.
    I hope next time I make cakepops I can get the almond bark as smooth as yours!

Leave a Reply

