Spring is in the Air!

20 Mar

Sources tell me that today is officially the first day of spring. πŸ™‚ That works out just perfectly, because the cake I wanted to show you today is decorated with a spring flower. I got the inspiration for this cake from my favorite website, cakecentral.com. I thought the “stitching” details were just adorable. Decorating this cake really was pretty simple. The design is nice, but not overly complicated. Let me walk you through it. πŸ™‚

I started by baking 2 round cake layers, and then cut each layer in half. That way, I had four layers of cake all together. I stacked each of these layers with icing in between.

Then of course, I needed to ice the sides. I wasn’t worried about the buttercream looking perfect; it just needed a “crumb coat.” I’d made some marshmallow fondant the night before, and I planned to cover the cake with it.

After I had my cake frosted, I started working on the flower for it. I googled a picture of a blossom with 5 petals and traced it onto a piece of parchment paper. I repeated this for 2 different sized blossoms. Then I tinted the fondant colors I wanted to use for the flower and cut around the pattern.

After I had both sizes of the petals cut, I “glued” them together with a couple of drops to water. I left this in a “flower former” to dry (which is basically just a plastic tube). I wanted the flower to have a little shape so that it would look lively. πŸ™‚

I also cut out some green leaves from the fondant. I left them to dry in the “flower former” also, so that the leaves would have a bit of a curl to them.

While giving the flower and leaves time to dry, I covered my cake with the fondant I’d made the night before.Β I just loved how the color turned out. I was hoping I would get a nice purple, without it being too bright. Just soft and spring-like. πŸ™‚

I mixed up some royal icing to make the “stitches” on the flower. Royal icing dries much stiffer than buttercream, so I knew the stitches would stay in place (and not slide off of the flower once I’d attached it to the cake).

After a little more wait time (to let the stitches harden), it was ready to assemble! I also added a white band around the bottom of the cake as a border. Then I realized that it was a little hard to see against the white cake stand. Oh well. πŸ™‚

Yay! It turned out pretty, if I do say so myself. πŸ™‚

And by the way, how do you like that cake stand? πŸ˜‰ Pretty spiffy, huh? My mom gave it to me last time I saw her.

Random Thought of the Day: MyΒ husband and I are almost to the end of the Couch to 5K program. It’s hard, but I’m glad we are doing it! This morning we jogged a full 3 miles for the first time. πŸ™‚ There is a 5K here in Panama City scheduled for Easter weekend. I hope we’ll be ready to enter it. πŸ™‚

Up Next: Something with peach, I think. πŸ™‚ My sister gave me a great sounding recipe for peach cupcakes. I might try that. Or, maybe a Peach Crunch Cake recipe that I’ve made a couple of times before. Tune in next week to find out. πŸ˜‰

The End.

3 Responses to “Spring is in the Air!”

  1. Mom March 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Yay on the cake and on the run this morning. I am sure y’all will be ready.

  2. Jessica Llanes March 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Love the cake : ) And that fact that you’re accomplishing the Couch to 5K : ) And I love anything peaches so this blog post is awesome: )

  3. Valerie McCarley March 21, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Love the cake, Jennifer. It almost looks like a cute hat. Congrats on the two of you getting in shape. You shouldn’t have any problem running a 5k by Easter at the pace you’re going. Be sure to take pictures that day.

Leave a Reply

