More Layers :)

13 Mar

I really liked the trifles I made in the past couple of weeks, and judging by the number of people who viewed the blog, I think you did too. 🙂 This next recipe is one I’ve  had saved in my recipe box for several months now, so I thought that while I am on this little layers kick it would be the perfect time to try it out. This recipe would be just wonderful for a hot summer day. It’s called “Chocolate and Peanut Butter Ribbon Dessert,” and it can be found here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-and-Peanut-Butter-Ribbon-Dessert-3/Detail.aspx

I think the best part about these layered desserts is that you can taste each of the flavors individually, but then when they all come together they become even more delicious. You know that old saying about the whole being greater than the sum of the parts? (Or something like that. I can’t remember exactly how it goes, to be completely honest.) I think trifles and other layered desserts are the best illustration of that idea. Don’t you? 🙂

Start by crushing some Nutter Butter cookies with a rolling pin. Before you start crushing any, you’ll want to taste test 1 or 2 (or 5) from the package *just* to be sure that the cookies are nice and fresh. 🙂

The crushed cookies are only 2 tablespoons of melted butter away from perfection, so go ahead and mix that in here. Then press into the bottom of a loaf pan lined with aluminum foil. (So that you can turn it out of the pan later without it sticking all over the sides).

This makes a bottom layer for your dessert, very much like a peanut butter flavored  pie crust. Now to work on the filling. Mix together cream cheese peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla.

Once that is well blended, gently stir in some cool whip.

Once the cool whip is incorporated, transfer half of the mixture into a separate bowl. To the half that you just separated, stir in 2 ounces of melted semi sweet chocolate. Now you have the layers for the filling! A peanut butter layer, and a chocolate layer (both with cream cheese, because it’s too good to be left out of either part). 🙂

Start by layering half of the peanut butter mixture over the crust.

For the middle layer, evenly spread the entire chocolate mixture on top of the peanut butter layer.

Finally, top it off with the remainder of the peanut butter mixture. Then cover with plastic wrap and freeze overnight.

After taking it out of the freezer, flip it out of then pan. Then flip it over one more time so that the pie crust layer is still on the bottom. Top with a little more cool whip and a few more crushed Nutter Butters. (Make sure to taste 1 or 2 more, to make sure the cookies stayed fresh over night. You wouldn’t want stale cookies on your dessert, or anything like that.)

Slice and enjoy!

Up Next: A fondant covered cake with a gumpaste flower. Can’t wait to try out a new design for the flower that I saw online.

Random Thought of the Day: Is anyone else watching Chopped All Stars? I am excited about it, and not ashamed to admit it! 🙂 If so, who are you rooting for to win it all??? I have to say Chef Ann Burrell. Although I’m not a fan of her crazy hair, she always makes cooking seem so fun.

3 Responses to “More Layers :)”

  1. Jessica Llanes March 13, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    MY, oh my that looks delicious!!!! I’m not even showing this to Rafy just because he will want me to make it immediately, and I already have another cake to bake tomorrow.
    Can’t wait to see the gumpaste flower cake!
    And I’m cheering for Chef Anne too. I think her and Paula are tied for my favorite Food Network star.

    • icingonyourcake March 14, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      I’m so glad Anne won! I almost didn’t even post that, because I was afraid I would jinx it. But clearly, she can beat Chef Robert even when she is half blind. 🙂

  2. Mr. Onyourcake March 14, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    These things are delicious! I think I am going to tell Rafy about them myself. It’s not fair to deprive him of such deliciousness 🙂

Leave a Reply

