The People Have Spoken…

5 Mar

…and the Apple Trifle it is. 🙂  I was kind of rooting for peach myself, so I’ll probably end up making that sometime in the near future. But this week, I made the Apple Caramel Trifle. I found the recipe here, and just changed the butterscotch ice cream topping to caramel. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Luscious-Apple-Trifle/Detail.aspx

 I’m sure if you like butterscotch it’s great that way too. I’m just more of a fan of the apple/caramel combination. Once again, this recipe is very easy! I’m going to have to start making more complicated stuff, or you guys are going to start wondering why I have a baking blog anyways. For the last half a dozen posts, I’ve said “Anyone can do this!” So what makes  me so special anyways? 🙂 I guess just that I like making these things so much that I bother to write about them after I eat them. 🙂

With trifles, it’s really all about layers. Start your layers here with pieces of cake. The recipe called for angel food cake, but I used a yellow cake because that’s what I already had on hand.

On top of the cake, pour some of the caramel ice cream topping. Yum.

 

On top of this goes the chopped apples. This made me start thinking of caramel apples that you can get at the fair, and I was really looking forward to tasting the final product!

Next, the cinnamon get sprinkled right on top of the apples. I actually went back and read this part of the recipe again to double check that I’d done it correctly. For some reason, this seemed a little odd to me. Not sure why. I guess I was expecting the cinnamon to be mixed in with something else? Or maybe I’m just a little crazy. But it turned out very good this way. The apple pieces all got a nice cinnamon coating.

The last layer is the creamy part of the mixture. It’s made with cream cheese, pudding, and cool whip.

Then just repeat it all again and top with a little more cool whip! The recipe actually calls for 3 layers of each, but I only had enough room in my bowl to do 2 layers. If I keep up with this trifle kick, maybe I’ll have to get a bigger trifle bowl. 🙂

If you’ve never made a trifle, try one for yourself sometime this spring. 🙂 They are fun to make and lots of them use fruit, which is always easier to find once the weather gets warmer.

Up Next: I have no idea. I’ll start thinking about that soon.

Random Thought of the Day: I just got a call from a friend and we’re heading to the best steakhouse in town tonight. Where is your favorite place to eat? Leave your choice in the comments section. 🙂

The End.

One Response to “The People Have Spoken…”

  1. Jessica Llanes March 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I bet that cream cheese with the apples was delish!
    I would say my favorite place to eat is Olive Garden : )

Leave a Reply

