Strawberry Goodness

26 Feb

Two weekends ago I made a birthday cake for my niece who turned 3. The cake was  made mostly of 2 layers of 11 x 15 inches. I only have one 11 x 15 pan, so I figured I would just bake one layer, let it cool and flip it out of the pan, and then start over again. The only problem was…..when I started over again I forgot to put parchment paper in the bottom of the pan to keep it from sticking. I don’t usually do this for smaller cakes, but for larger ones I have problems with the cake coming out cleanly if I don’t. I remembered it for the first layer, and it came out beautifully. The second layer……not so much. 😦 So my new plan went like this: bake one layer, let it cool and flip it out of the pan, start over again, stare in a mixture of frustration/disbelief when the second layer crumbled to pieces, drive to the grocery store to get more ingredients, and start over for a 3rd time (to get a total of 2 cake layers that I could actually use). I was glad that I’d started early enough in the day to give myself plenty of “wiggle room” and still have the cake ready on time. Even though the second attempt had broken in  half when I tried to turn it out of the pan, I tasted one of the crumbled pieces and it was very good! I couldn’t imagine throwing away all of that cake. Instead, I realized this as a perfect opportunity to make the easiest trifle I’ve ever eaten. My mom used to make it when visiting family for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and we simply referred to it as “Strawberry Goodness.” The name fits it quite well, and it’s so easy to make. This also gave me an excuse to finally use the pretty trifle bowl that my husband’s grandmother gave me as a wedding gift. Here’s how it works:
I actually put in one new step this time. Generally, mom just crumbled the cake into small pieces and started layering the ingredients. Instead, I put mine on a baking sheet first and re-baked them on 350 for another 5 minutes. This suggestion came from my sister, who saw something similar on a Food Network show. The idea is, the cake is going to be mingling with cool whip while it’s hanging out in the trifle bowl. By re-baking it for a few minutes after it’s cut into squares, it gives it just the slightest hint of a “crust.” That way, the cake doesn’t get soggy from the cool whip. This step was never even necessary when my mom took it to holiday dinners, because it was always gone in a very short amount of time. I thought I’d try it out just to see if it would work. If you want to include this step, be sure to bake it only for a few minutes. We don’t want to make croutons here. 🙂

You’ll also need plenty of strawberries, and some cool whip. Don’t these look delicious?

This is the dish that has been waiting to be used (ever so patiently) for the last year or more in my cabinet. It was very glad to see the light of day.

Once you have the strawberries sliced, the only thing you  have to do is make layers of it all. Start with cool whip, then cake, and then strawberries. Repeat this and then add a little more cool whip on top (just because it looks prettiest that way).

I also usually add a couple of strawberries slices on top too, just for good measure. 🙂

Look how pretty it is when it’s all finished!

Once I’d finished making this, I really wished I hadn’t waited over a year to use that trifle bowl. It was easy to make and not so bad looking either! So of course my next reaction was to go online and look up other trifle recipes. 🙂 I must try a new one in the near future. I found several that sounded really good. So here’s what I’m asking you to do: vote on what I should make for the next blog update. Here are the choices:
Fresh Peach Trifle

Chocolate Trifle

Apple Caramel Trifle

Whichever one gets the most votes is what I’ll make next week. 🙂

Random Thought for the Day: Spring training starts today. This makes me very  happy. 😀

The End.

3 Responses to “Strawberry Goodness”

  1. elizabeth February 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Apple carmel!

  2. Mr. Onyourcake February 26, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Chocolate!!

  3. Mom February 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I vote peach but could help you eat thestawberry one you fixed:) I will need the recipe if we have peaches on the trees next year. I thought of Eric’s grandmother today when we were in Thomasville. I hope she is doing well.

Leave a Reply

