Simple, yet tricky.

6 Feb

The subject of today’s post is…for the most part…very simple. As in, push-a-button-on-the-microwave simple. But the very last step can be a little tricky. Let me show you what I mean. I’ve had my eye on this little candy mold for quite some time. You can buy it at Michael’s for only $3.

I thought that making a tiny little bowl out of chocolate would be such a cool way to serve a dessert! The mold isn’t very big, so it would need to be a small serving of dessert, but if it was any bigger it wouldn’t be as cute. 🙂 The first step is to melt some chocolate bark in the microwave. If you can press start and then use a spoon to stir the melted chocolate, you can make these little molds. It’s that easy.

There are actually two pieces to this mold, in order to form the little bowl. The next step is to fill the bottom half of the mold about 1/3 of the way to the top. Still very easy so far.

Once all three molds are filled, place the other half of the mold on op and click in the little tabs. It’s getting very difficult, I know. 😉

Oops! I filled the top one way too much. That’s ok,  I’ll just break off the extra from around the top of the bowl and eat it. 🙂 After the top is on securely, turn the mold upside down and tap it to make sure the chocolate fills in all the way to the top of the bowl (which is now on the bottom). See how simple this is? Then place in the fridge until the mold starts to look frosty. Once it does, place in the freezer for two minutes. Here comes the *only* tricky part of this project, and it’s really not all that bad: getting the bowl out of the mold without cracking it. I cracked a couple of these, like the one here:

Even with the little crack, I think these are so cute. And I’m sure if I practiced a little more, I would get better at getting the bowl all out in one piece. And here’s the best part: filling it with ice cream!

Maybe even add a little caramel to the top?

Or if you really wanted to be sensible about dessert, you could go for berries and a little dollop of whipped cream. I went for the ice cream myself, but thought the berries did make a cute picture. 🙂

I think strawberries would look cute in one of these too, but I didnt’ have any of those on hand for a photo op. Maybe  next time. 🙂 I think these would be really cool to make if you were having people over for dinner. They are easy, don’t take much time, and would look impressive. 🙂 And of course, they could be made ahead of time. What do you think of them? I need to try a white chocolate bowl too. Maybe later this afternoon. 🙂

Up Next: I have no idea. Next weekend I’ll be in Perry for my niece’s and dad’s birthdays. So I might not get around to posting anything then, but at some point I will show you all pictures of their birthday cakes. I can’t wait to make them!

Random Thought of the Day: Superbowl Sunday. Honestly, I don’t really care about the game. But I wonder what the best commercial will be? And I wonder what the wait time would be on a pizza if you called one in just before game time? I would hate to working in a pizza place today! I just know they will all be swamped. That’s all. 🙂

2 Responses to “Simple, yet tricky.”

  1. Jessica Llanes February 6, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    This is so cool!!!

  2. Mom February 6, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Those are really cute!

Leave a Reply

