Easy as 1, 2, 3!

17 Jan

Today’s cake is without a doubt the easiest cake I’ve ever decorated. Ever. And it’s pretty cute too. 🙂 I mentioned on the last post that I would be making something from a new pan I’d received for Christmas. My mother in law gave me a set of cake pans which look like an Oreo cookie (except it says “cookie” instead of “oreo” because it’s not an officially licensed product. All the same to me. )

For this cake you need 3 things: the special cookie pans, chocolate cake batter (I just used a simple box mix). and buttercream icing.

The pans came in a set of 2. Bake half of the chocolate cake batter in each of the pans (these silicone pans need to be sat on top of a cookie sheet to bake).

Now for the decorating. Are you ready for this? I promise that anyone can make this cake. It’s so simple, I won’t even need words to describe the decorating technique.

1.

2.

3.

Voila! That’s all there is to it! I didn’t get a good picture of the top of the cake; the flash kept making it too bright. I’m not very good at the whole lighting/picture-taking thing. You can see a little of the words in this picture (and of course the signature ridged edges)

Simple, quick, and fun. I like the idea of making this to have friends over for a summer barbeques or something like that. I don’t know why, but it just seems like a summer type of cake. But it also wouldn’t take much of your time, which can be important if you are having friends over and you’re trying to get lots of other things done besides a cake. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: I really like this cake, but to be honest Oreos aren’t my favorite snack. I mean, they’re ok. I eat them occasionally. But I’m not obsessed with them or anything. Which snack/junk food is your favorite? Oreos? Chips Ahoy? Some other cookie or candy?

Up Next: I’m not entirely sure yet to be honest. I may make a Valentines cake next weekend. I know it would be very early, but I have a picture of a Valentines cake I’ve had saved since last year…..so I may get an early start. 🙂

4 Responses to “Easy as 1, 2, 3!”

  1. Jessica Llanes January 17, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    cute! my favorite junk food is cupcakes!!! : )

  2. Mom January 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Super cute! And to answer your question, what canI say except `Starburst jellybeans!!

    • icingonyourcake January 18, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      I should have *known* you would pick Starburst jellybeans before I even wrote that! 🙂 But they will be in all the stores before you know it. I went to Hobby Lobby yesterday and saw plastic Easter eggs already….so jellybeans can’t be far away!

  3. Mr. on your cake January 18, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    My favorite is your cookie bars!

Leave a Reply

