Tartlets to Begin the New Year

8 Jan

I’m back. I’m sure all of you were just staring at your computer screens wondering where I was last weekend. (Because my tiny fan base is SO consumed with this blog that I’m sure you all noticed that I took the weekend off last week. Or not. 😛 )

I’m making my first post of 2011 about a dessert that I tried at the first and only Pampered Chef party I’ve attended. One of my wonderful co-workers invited me to her Pampered get together just before Christmas. This was one of the recipes that was served, and I loved them! They are called Taffy Apple Tarts. They remind me of mini apple pies, and I really like that. 🙂 I think they would be perfect to take to a pot luck dinner or a family holiday gathering, because it always seems like there are SO many great dishes to try at big get togethers. These are great because you can try one and  have all of the great flavor, but still have room for other desserts too. Or, if you are just making them at home they are small enough that you can eat several (or most!) of them at once. 🙂

The one thing that I did to change the recipe was to use only 1/4 of a caramel in the bottom of each tartlet. The original recipe called for 1/2 of a caramel for each one. I just wanted to leave as much room for the apple filling as possible. Here’s the link to the full recipe. I highly suggest that you try it. 🙂

http://www.food.com/recipe/taffy-apple-tartlets-pampered-chef-328956

Here’s everything you’ll need:

The first step is to chop the peanuts. I don’t have the food chopper that the recipe suggests, but I used my mini electric chopper. Just be careful not to chop these too fine. You want small pieces, but still course enough to make a nice, crispy topping.

Then you’ll need to chop the apples. Again, the recipe suggests to use a food chopper. I just chopped these the old fashioned way. I thought a cereal bowl would be enough to hold the 2 apples. I didn’t realize I’d end up with this big of a pile!

Note: I somehow *completely* missed the part of the recipe that said to peel the apples. As you can see, I left the peeling on. It still tasted good and gave it a nice color, so I don’t know that I would bother peeling them. It’s up to you.

Then add the caramel sauce and flour. Stir together and microwave to heat. Yum!

*P.S. I hate to brag on myself, but I do think I did a pretty terrific job on that photo. When I look at it I can almost smell the caramel mixing in with the apples. Ok, I’m done with obsessing over that.

I love using pre-made pie crusts. They made recipes like this one so easy. Cut your refrigerated pie crust dough into circles and place into mini muffin pans.

Then add the cut up caramel and spoon in the apple mixture.

Then sprinkle with the chopped peanuts and bake! I used a little more than the 1/4 cup of peanuts called for, because I really liked the topping.

I’m already thinking that these would make a great summertime dessert…with a tiny scoop of ice cream  piled on top. Mmmm. Then I’m thinking that I should also try this with other fruits. I love peaches. I don’t think it would go well with caramel though. What type of sauce do you think would go well with this dessert if I switched the apples to peaches? Anyone creative enough to figure that out?

Next Up: A cake made with a special pan that I received as a Christmas gift. I think you’ll like it.

Random Thought of the Day: Since I haven’t posted anything since before Christmas, I hope you all had a great Christmas and New Years. Anyone have a New Years Resolution they want to share? Or has anyone heard any funny New Years Resolutions from the radio (or anywhere) that might make us laugh?

2 Responses to “Tartlets to Begin the New Year”

  1. Jessica Llanes January 8, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    My New Years resolution was to change my hair. I like that it wasn’t an ongoing process-got it cut, and I’m finished with my resolution 🙂

    I definitely want to make these! They sound wonderful. I like cream cheese with peaches, but not sure how it would react to the cooking process

  2. Melanie Baggett January 8, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I’m wondering about the cream cheese filling myself. Maybe topped with some brown sugar and chopped pecans instead of peanuts. I liked those mini apple pies to.

Leave a Reply

