Christmas Cake Pops!

23 Dec

Christmas is just a couple of days away, and I can hardly believe it is almost here! The good news in this  is that Christmas is my favorite holiday. The bad news is that Christmas baking is just about over until next year. 😦 Of course I’ll still find many other treats to occupy my time until next year, but I really do love making Christmas treats, and I’m always a little sad when Christmas day is over and there are no more red and green desserts to be made for several months. But….let’s enjoy these last couple days of Christmas baking season 2010 while they are here. 🙂 I am finishing off this year’s baking with Christmas cake pops! These were a lot of fun to make. My dog Mandy even enjoyed it, because she got to eat one of them that I dropped. Oops. 🙂 I almost didn’t get the lollipop stick away from her before she devoured that too!

Now, I have seen lots of adorable Christmas cake pops. I’d intended to make several different designs: Santa hats, Christmas trees, ornaments, snowman, and reindeer. These dreams were cut short when I realized that I had less than a dozen lollipop sticks left! 😦 So, I settled for the two that I wanted to try most. I really wanted to do the Santa hats and Christmas trees because they have a different shape, and I wanted to try something besides round cake pops. The others will have to wait until next year I guess. But that is ok because these two designs have lots of Christmas spirit packed in. 🙂

I started with leftover chocolate cake. As with any cake pops, I started by crumbling up the cake.

Then I added a little mint buttercream icing. I think the chocolate/mint combination is a great flavor for Christmas time. Remember that you always want to add only a little icing at a time, you don’t want the cake pops to get too soupy!

Instead of making this mixture into cake balls, I needed to make cake cones. After they were shaped I put them into the freezer to let them harden up just a bit.

Even though both the hats and the trees need the same shape, the dipping process is slightly different. I’m so glad that bakerella.com already laid out the steps for me so I wouldn’t have to figure it out myself. For the trees, I added a lollipop stick using a little bit of melted candy coating. For the hats, the stick doesn’t get added just yet. I put these back into the freezer for 5 more minutes to make sure the lollipop sticks were secure.

Let’s start with the hats first. I dipped the bottom part of the hat into melted white chocolate bark. After I dipped it, I added the lollipop stick while the bark was still wet. Then I put them into my styrofoam block to let the white chocolate set.

It won’t take very long for the white chocolate to dry. While you’re waiting on it, melt some red candy coating. I dipped the top part of the cake pop into the red candy (just to the point where it touched the white).

Of course, any Santa hat is topped with a white puff. On Bakerella’s blog she used a white chocolate covered espresso bean. I didn’t have any of these, but I didn’t want to go buy any just for this. I took the easy way out and used something already in my pantry. Mini marshmallows. 🙂 These are probably something most people have in their kitchens this time of year, because they are highly necessary for hot cocoa.

I thought some shredded coconut added to the bottom rim would give it a nice, fluffy looking texture. I don’t care for coconut too much, so I didn’t want to add it to all of the cake pops. But I did think it would look cute. So I added it to a couple of the Santa hats…

….and left a few of them without coconut.

Hats are done! Now time to work on the trees.

The trees were actually even easier than the hats. I dipped them in melted green candy coating. Before it dried, I used a toothpick to swirl around the coating to give it some texture. It looked somewhat like tree branches, so I was happy. 🙂

I used a little yellow fondant and the smallest star cookie cutter I have to make a topper for the tree. Cute!

Now the tree just needs a little decoration. Lucky for me, a couple of weeks ago I bought some very adorable Christmas lights sprinkles at Michael’s.  I think they added a nice little touch.

And thaaaaat’s all folks! The next time I post something here to the blog it will be something other than Christmas treats. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about and looking at pictures of things I’ve made this year. And more importantly, I hope everyone who reads this has a very Merry Christmas!

Random Thought of the Day:  Another one of my Christmas favorites (besides baking) is Christmas movies. What is your favorite Christmas movie?

The End. 🙂

2 Responses to “Christmas Cake Pops!”

  1. Jessica December 23, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Yes I have very much enjoyed seeing the Christmas treats you have made! 🙂 My favorite Christmas movie is Elf, and my favorite line is when he answers the phone by saying “Buddy the Elf, what’s your favorite color?” Makes me laugh every time!

  2. Mr. on your cake December 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Cake pops!! Yessss! I really love Christmas treats because I get to try them all 🙂 and they are all delicious. As far as favorite movie goes, that’s a tough one. Its between Elf, A Christmas Story, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Leave a Reply

