Candy Cane Cheesecake

18 Dec

Somehow my Christmas baking has gotten off track from my original target. I guess that’s ok though, as long as I’m still doing some type of Christmas baking. That’s what really matters. 🙂 I planned to make lots of cakes and cupcakes with Christmas decorations, but I’ve somehow changed that into making lots of things with Christmas flavors. The red velvet cake was pretty good, and the gingerbread cupcakes were amazing. Neither had special holiday decorations, but the flavors certainly made them seem very merry. This next recipe is one I made a couple of weeks ago, but I’m just now getting around to posting it. It’s a Candy Cane Cheesecake. The very first recipe I posted on this blog was a cheesecake, so I think it’s appropriate to post a different variation that is geared towards this jolly season.

First, let me say that it is VERY important to line your springform pan with parchment paper for this recipe. The other cheesecake recipe I’ve made didn’t require this step, but the crust was made a little differently. Unfortunately, when I started making this I realized that I was out of parchment paper. Of course. 😦 So I skipped it……and learned the hard way how important it is for this recipe. Most of my yummy chocolate crust was stuck to the pan, so next time I’ll make sure I have plenty of the paper available before I start.

After your pan is lined, mixed together 2 cups of crushed chocolate graham crackers and 1/4 cup melted butter. I don’t have a food processor to crush the crackers with, so I used my blender instead. It worked surprisingly well. : )

Press this into the bottom of an 8″ springform pan. It helps to use the bottom of a drinking glass to press down the crumbs. It’s easy to get the crumbs pressed in evenly this way. I wish I could say I came up with that creative idea on my own, but I definitely stole it from a Food Network show.

Now that the crust is ready you can start preparing the actual cheesecake. Beat together 24 ounces of cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar, 2 tablespoons of flour, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.

Once this is all combined, add 2 eggs and an egg yolk.

Lastly, stir in 1/4 cup of milk and 9 crushed candy canes. I figured it might not be a good idea to put candy canes in the blender. So I put them in a big ziploc bag and crushed them with a hammer. This is a good step to do on days when you have any frustration to take out. 🙂

Once it’s all mixed together it looks like a pretty, creamy, delicious batter with speckles of red.

This will need to bake for 50-60 minutes in a 375 degrees oven. Cool it in the pan, and then refrigerate for at least 4 hours. I actually just refrigerated mine overnight.

The recipe suggested topping this with chocolate ganache. I didn’t want to go to the trouble of making ganache, but I did have some chocolate syrup readily available. 🙂 I decided to use a drizzle of the syrup and a couple of mini candy canes for the garnish.

I really liked how the chocolate and peppermint flavors gave a Christmas-ey feel to this cheesecake.  Is Christmas-ey a word? How is it spelled? I’m not sure, but I don’t think that is the important thing here. 🙂 The important thing is that this was a yummy recipe. My only disappointment was that I didn’t line my pan which caused the crust to stick. I’m pretty sure I’ll try this recipe again, and I hope you’ll consider doing the same!

Up Next: Not sure yet, but something else Christmas related. 🙂 I guess it depends on whatever I’m in the mood for baking once I’m on Christmas break this Tuesday. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: This weekend the new Yogi Bear movie is being released. As strange as this may sound coming from a grown adult, I actually really want to see it! When I was younger, Yogi was my absolute favorite. I had several animated movies I watched over and over again, and had a stuffed Yogi that I carried with me anywhere I went. What was your favorite cartoon as a kid?

The End. 🙂

One Response to “Candy Cane Cheesecake”

  1. Jessica Llanes December 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Wow that sounds AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

