Red Velvet

11 Dec

Ahhh….December. The only time of the year when you can walk down the baking aisle of your local grocery store only to find that every single bottle of red food coloring is gone. Red Velvet season is clearly in full swing. To be honest with you, I’ve never been a big fan of Red Velvet. I’ve always thought it was ok, but I’d prefer chocolate or white cake instead. Of course, the cream cheese icing always makes it good. 🙂 But I thought to myself: Maybe it’s because I’ve never really had a made from scratch red velvet. I’ve always had store bought or boxed mixes. Maybe there is something special about the homemade kind that I would like more. I searched Food Network’s recipes and I decided to try this one: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/grandmother-pauls-red-velvet-cake-recipe/index.html

You start by creaming together butter and sugar. Now this is a recipe by one of my favorites, Paula Deen. 2 full sticks of butter are required. 🙂

Make sure to let your butter sit out until it becomes room temperature before you try to do this. That will help it become nice and fluffy.

Now you can add the eggs, one at a time. I’ve always wondered why it’s so important to add only one egg at a time. Anyone know?

Now it’s time to mix together the cocoa and red food coloring. Since there was no liquid red food coloring to be found when I went to the grocery store, I decided to use the red food coloring that I normally use for icings. It’s a gel instead of a liquid, but I figured red is red, right? I was pretty sure it would work. I added this and a little water so that it would mix well with the cocoa powder.

Add this to the sugar mixture. And observe the “action shot” of my stand mixer. 🙂 I love this thing. It makes baking so much easier!

Next you’ll need to sift together the flour and salt. Then begin adding it to the sugar mixture, alternating with the buttermilk.

When all of the flour and buttermilk has been added and it is well blended, add the vanilla. Then in a separate bowl mix together the baking soda and vinegar. This makes a cool reaction, pretty fizzy.

Add this to the mixture and your batter is complete! It will look something like this:

I found that the baking time in the recipe was off quite a bit. The recipe suggests to bake for 20-25 minutes. I had to bake mine just over 30 minutes. But look how pretty it looks when it’s all done. 🙂

While your cakes are cooling you can make the cream cheese icing. I didn’t use the icing recipe that came along with the cake recipe for a couple of reasons. I already have a cream cheese icing recipe that I really like and it’s much simpler than the icing recipe this cake had. Also, this cake’s recipe called for coconut in the icing and I’m not a big coconut fan either. So I just stuck with my tried and true cream cheese frosting, but if you like coconut this one is probably worth a try. For mine, I just creamed together a stick of butter and a pack of cream cheese (both a room temperature). Then mixed in one box of powdered sugar. And that’s it! Homemade icing doesn’t get much easier than that.

Add this yummy goodness between the layers and around the sides and top of the cake. Then simply sprinkle with pecans and you’re finished!

This cake was much better than the boxed varieties I’ve tried before. It was pretty good. I think I still prefer chocolate, but this is definitely something that I’d make again. And considering that I’ve never been fond of red velvet, I’d say that makes it a pretty good recipe.

Up Next: Candy Cane Cheesecake

Random Thought of the Day: This weather is too stinkin’ cold! But at least it’s a good excuse to wear hoodies, drink hot chocolate, and build fires in the fireplace. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Red Velvet”

  1. Mom December 11, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Oh, red velvet cake. Looks like this is the second one I have missed getting a piece of this week. Mrs. Betty made one for our Christmas party and now you made one. It’s like you said, it is the time of year for these.

  2. Jessica Llanes December 11, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    I’ve never been a fan of red velvet either-but Rafy loves them. At my grocery store it’s the season to be out of white baking chocolate = (

Leave a Reply

