Gobble, gobble, gobble

18 Nov

Me and Jennifer-we go together like Thanksgiving and dessert. I’m her twin sister and we’ve been BFFs our entire lives. She always said that I wanted to be just like her, and I guess that was true because once she started showing me her baking projects I jumped right in! She’s letting me do her weekly blog post this week because I found a great recipe for Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes. What could be a better fall treat than the flavor of America’s most beloved Thanksgiving dessert in cupcake form?

I’m here to walk you through the process of making these yummy treats! First, gather your ingredients. This is what you should have:

Cupcakes:

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 ½ tablespoons pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ cup butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 eggs, room temperature

½ cup milk

1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree

Frosting:

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

¼ cup butter, softened

1 pd powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Two notes here; first- don’t be intimidated. It looks like a lot of ingredients but most of these things are probably already in your pantry or fridge. Secondly- no, you don’t need to have a chef pig canister but he is holding my white sugar which you do need.

Preheat your oven to 375 and line your pans with 24 cupcake liners.

You’ll want to sift the flour-trust me.

Please don’t skip this step! It’s tempting I know, but it really doesn’t take long at all. Then you can add in the pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Give these a quick whisk together and you’re ready to move onto a new bowl for the wet ingredients.

Beat together the ½ cup butter, white sugar, and brown sugar. Yum-butter plus two kinds of sugar- you know these are gonna be good cupcakes.

You’ll want to beat them together for about 4 or 5 minutes until they are fluffy (it should also get lighter in color as you beat).

The next step is to add the eggs-one at a time-being sure the first is incorporated before you add the second. At this point your mixture probably looks like this…

…except there’s probably twice as much in your bowl. I’m halving the recipe today because I don’t want my husband and me to consume 2 dozen cupcakes by ourselves. If I baked the full recipe, we just might.

Now you’re done with the blender. You’ll want to stir the milk and pumpkin puree in with a spoon or spatula. Did you know that the tastiness of your cupcakes is directly linked to the cuteness of your spatula? It’s a scientific fact.

These cupcakes could win the blue ribbon at any county fair.

Only one more step! Dump the flour mixture into the wet mixture and stir just until incorporated.

Now you’re ready to put them in your cupcake liners.

Then bake for 25 mins. I usually use this time to wash all of my dirty dishes so I don’t have a huge pile at the end-but hey, I’m not here to judge you on what you do while your cupcakes are baking. I mainly do this because if I make the frosting while the cupcakes are in the oven, I’m tempted to put the frosting on right away; but of course that’s not allowed. You have to let your cupcakes completely cool before you frost them. That’s why I wait until they come out of the oven to make the frosting-which is super easy!

Beat the cream cheese and butter together until it’s smooth. Then add the powdered sugar and mix until it’s incorporated.

Almost done! Just add the vanilla and cinnamon, and beat until fluffy.

If the cupcakes aren’t cool by then you just have to find a way to distract yourself. Or you can stand there and stare at them hoping that your mental powers can make them cool faster. I usually choose the second option.

Now you can frost them and eat one!Or two, or three. If you eat enough cupcakes to spoil your Thanksgiving dinner, the turkey will be grateful.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

One Response to “Gobble, gobble, gobble”

  1. mom November 21, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    These look yummy Jess and your pig spatula is cutr too. Can’t wait to see you and Jenn next week!

Leave a Reply

