Not Your Garden Variety Cupcakes

13 Nov

According to the always handy Google search, “garden variety” means something that is ordinary, common, nothing special. That is definitely not how I would describe the cupcakes for today’s post. I found the idea for these in an amazing book my mom gave me called “Hello, Cupcake!” I’ve been meaning to try these out for some time, and I’m glad I finally got around to it. I have LOTS of pictures for these. ๐Ÿ™‚

Bake any chocolate cupcake recipe you like, and have some chocolate frosting and crushed Oreo’s ready.

Spread a little chocolate frosting on top of each cupcake, and then turn it over and dip in the crushed cookies.

Good thing this step is so easy, because the next several steps are: repeat, repeat, repeat, repeat….

….repeat until you have 4 nice little garden rows.

Now, I made my signs a little differently from the book. I didn’t have some of the materials/ingredients the book listed, but I had other things that I couldย  make do. So I’m not following their instructions exactly. I used gumpaste to make little garden signs, and I started cutting them out first because I knew they would need some time to dry.

I moved those to the side and started working on my vegetables. These were the best tasting vegetables I’ve ever had. ๐Ÿ™‚ I mixed up a little orange food coloring into some fondant. You’ll only need a small amount of orange.

Then I shaped this into several little carrots.

I thought this next part was brilliant on the part of the “Hello, Cupcake!” authors. Use a knife to score the sides of the carrots and rub on a little cinnamon. It makes the carrots look like they were just pulled from the dirt. How cute is that?!?

Then I started working on my lettuce. I heated some green frosting and mixed in some Special K cereal. The book suggests using Corn Flakes, but lots of cereals that are somewhat flat would work.

Once it’s all mixed together, the pieces of cereal need to be spread out on wax paper to be refrigerated. This will help harden up the icing a bit and make the “lettuce” more stable.

While these were in the fridge I started working on my peas. Generally speaking, I’m not a big fan of peas. These, I just love. Very easy to make, too. You just need to roll out four small circles of fondant and one flat oval.

Then squish the peas together inside the oval and fold down one side. Simple as that! Of course, you’ll want to make several.

The last vegetable I worked on were the radishes. I didn’t think these were quite as cute as the others, but they did add a nice color. I used fondant to make the body part of the radish and a couple of the green-icing-coated-cereal pieces for the tops.

From here on out, it only gets easier! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s time to start putting the vegetables into the garden.

I decided to “plant” mine with the carrots in between the peas and lettuce, just to break up the green colors. Are they growing on you yet?

Yes, I really said that. I’m a dork. ๐Ÿ™‚

The veggies are all ready, but I needed to go back and finish those signs. The book suggested using icing to pipe on the words andย pictures, but I decided that using edible markers would be easier. You can use these to write on gumpaste or fondant and there’s no piping bag to clean up. ๐Ÿ™‚

And of course, what’s cuter than fondant vegetables? Mini versions of them, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚ I made some smaller sizes of each to go on the signs. Here’s how they turned out.

I forgot to take a picture of the hat making in progress, but I decided that a garden wouldn’t be complete without a floppy straw hat.

These were a lot of fun to make and I’m really happy with how they turned out! Hope you try them sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

Next Up: A guest blogger. You’re going to love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Random Thought of the Day: The holidays are coming up, and we all have a favorite food that always pops up this time of year! ๐Ÿ™‚ What’s your favorite Thanksgiving or Christmas treat?

One Response to “Not Your Garden Variety Cupcakes”

  1. Jessica Llanes November 13, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    I like all the veggies, but the straw hat is super cute! And I think Dad would like these-crushed oreos on top definitely calls his name.

Leave a Reply

