Gameday Cakepops!

24 Oct

I hope some of you have had a chance to try making cakepops. They are a lot of fun to experiment with, and I have a feeling that I’m just getting started 🙂 I decided this week that I wanted to venture into different shaped cakepops. Seeing as it is football season, that’s where I started. First you start with crumbled cake. For the basic cakepop instructions, visit www.bakerella.com

Add just enough icing to make a texture that is easy to shape.

Then use your hands to shape footballs. If you ever played with PlayDough as a kid, you have all the skills you need for shaping cake balls. No special training required. 🙂

These will need to sit in the freezer for about 15 minutes to firm up before inserting a lollipop stick. Here’s where I had a decision to make. Which way should I insert the stick? I decided to try both ways, and see which I liked best.

My thought was that if I inserted the stick so that the football sat horizontally, it would look most natural. The only problem was that the treat bags I normally use to individually wrap these cakepops are not wide enough for them to fit this way. So, I tried a vertical football too. After seeing both, I decided that a vertical football just didn’t look as good. I’ll just have to figure out a different way to package them. 🙂 Although, the vertical one probably would be easier to dip.

Here’s a horizontal football cakepop after it’s been dipped in chocolate.

So far it’s looking just as nice as I’d hoped! Now it needs some threads. I happened to have white chocolate on hand, so I decided to use that. I melted it in a disposable piping bag, then cut off a tiny bit of the end so that I could squeeze the icing out.

I realized as I was making these that the white chocolate just doesn’t work as well as I thought it might. The chocolate bark that I used to dip the footballs hardens up very quickly. The white chocolate just never seemed to really “set up” and get firm enough. Next time I try these, I’ll use white Candy Melts instead.

All done!

One more  picture, with a more appropriate background. 😉

Go NOLES!

I’ve already seen a couple of GREAT ideas for Christmas cakepops. So you will be seeing more cakepops in the near future. 🙂

Up next: Peanut Butter Fudge

Random Thought of the Day: What kind of candy will you buy for Trick or Treaters? ?? 🙂

The End.

2 Responses to “Gameday Cakepops!”

  1. Jessica Llanes October 24, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    I’m getting skittles for the trick or treaters 🙂 If there are leftovers, it will be a candy that I like!

  2. ERIC October 25, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    That is a beautiful picture 🙂 And they were delicious as always!

Leave a Reply

