Short and Sweet

16 Oct

That’s how this week’s post is going to be. I nearly forgot to take any pictures of the cake at all, and I don’ t have very much time on my hands right now to type out long, funny stories. So I’m going to give you a short and sweet post today….hopefully next week I’ll have time to write something really creative.

The cake is called Hummingbird cake. Ever heard of it? I hadn’t until about a year ago. I found the recipe on cakecentral.com. Here’s the link. http://cakecentral.com/recipes/1643/hummingbird-cake-ii

I really like the taste of this cake (although the title left me a little worried the first time I heard it). It’s got bananas, walnuts, and pineapple. It’s iced with a cream cheese frosting and it has a taste of cinnamon, so it reminds me a little of a carrot cake. Except I don’t really like carrot cake. 🙂 So maybe I should say this is more of a cross between carrot cake and banana nut bread. The frosting and texture of the cake is similar to carrot cake, but the taste is more like banana nut bread.

Like I said, I almost forgot altogether that I needed pictures of this cake. So….I didn’t get any of the cake mixing process. Here’s one that I shot about 10 minutes into baking.

Although the recipe says to bake for 30 minutes, I’ve found that it actually takes closer to 40 minutes. Here’s how it looks when it’s finished.

The icing is SUPER easy. And very rich. 🙂 I love cream cheese icing. Start by creaming butter and cream cheese (make sure both are softened).

It looks a little soupy at this point, but once you add the powdered sugar it with thicken up quite a bit.

An added bonus to this recipe is that you will have just a little icing left over once the cake is covered. Perfect chance to lick the bowl. 🙂 I’m telling you……this icing is good!

There you have it! No special decorating skills required. If you’d like to try a variation of this recipe, try adding some coconut. A friend of mine says she loves hummingbird cake with coconut, because it gives it a little more of a tropical taste.

Next week, I promise to actually decorate something! Either a Halloween cake or special version of cake pops. And I’ll spend more than 5 minutes writing the post. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: I’m loving this cooler weather!

The End. 🙂

Leave a Reply

