That Guy Rocks!

8 Oct

Guy Fieri, that is. 🙂 I watched his show one day on Food Network and saw him make a pouncake that looked amazingly delicious. I thought to myself: Guy doesn’t really seem like the poundcake-baking-type. He’s all big and tough, so if he is on TV showing a poundcake recipe, it must be really good. I thought I’d try it myself, and I *highly* recommend that you do the same. I’ve only made it once, so I hope it wasn’t just beginner’s luck with the recipe. But it was very, very good. I took it to the school where I teach so I could share it with some of my co-workers. One of the ladies there told me that it was the best poundcake she’s ever had in her life. And I didn’t add any specials extras to the recipe, so Guy has clearly got this thing down pat. Here’s the link if you’d like to print it. (Trust me, you want to print it).

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/guy-fieri/golden-pound-cake-recipe/index.html

Personally, I don’t care for cranberries, so I didn’t make the cranberry glaze. But I did think that a berry glaze sounded nice. I love strawberry, so I looked up a strawberry glaze recipe on the Food Network site. I ended up using the glaze from this Sandra Lee recipe. It went well with the poundcake, but honestly……the cake doesn’t even need any kind of topping. It is awesome just standing alone. If you’d like to make the strawberry topping, you can find it here.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sandra-lee/cheesecake-petit-fours-with-creamy-strawberry-glaze-recipe/index.html

You start by creaming butter and sugar. LOTS of butter and sugar.

Then you’ll add eggs, vanilla, and lemon and orange zest. My mom gave me a nifty little zester for my birthday. I can’t remember if I have ever posted it to the blog or not, so I’m showing it off now. 🙂 It makes very quick work of the zesting. You just scrape it down the side of the fruit, and it has little teeth that rake off the peeling. Of course, if you don’t have one of these, a grater will work just fine as well.

Next comes the alternations of cake flour and buttermilk and cream. It made quite a thick batter. This was my first experiment with a pound cake, so I was hoping it was supposed to be this thick and I didn’t mess up somewhere along the way!

I usually take a short cut  and spray the pan with cooking spray instead of taking the time to actually butter and flour it. However, I thought that with this thick of a batter, I better go the extra mile. The batter smelled heavenly, and I did not want to take any chances that it would all stick to the insides of the pan.

Into the oven it goes!

Interestingly enough, this recipe says to NOT preheat the oven. You put the cake in a cold oven and then set the temperature. I don’t know if that’s the norm for poundcakes or not. Anyone know?

This is the beauty that emerged almost an hour and a half later. After letting it cool in the pan for a while first, I flipped it out onto a cooling rack to let it cool down to room temperature.

The glaze consisted of strawberry jam, cream cheese, sugar, and lemon juice.

It has to boil for five minutes. I kept worrying that it would burn and stick to the bottom of the pan, but it didn’t.

Put the two together, and you have one heck of a dessert. Or, leave the poundcake alone and you still have one heck of a dessert. 🙂

Coming up next: Hummingbird Cake

Random Thought of the Day: Today at my school we voted for Teacher of the Year. Doesn’t that seem a bit early? The lady who won definitely deserves recognition. She works hard every single day, and her students are lucky to be in her class. But really, if the voting happens before the first report card is even sent home, how can we know who the Teacher of the Year is for the 2010-2011 school year? Really, you kind of have to judge based on mostly last year. I think the teacher who won deserves the award and would have gotten it had we voted later in the year, so I guess it all comes out the same. I just think it’s a little odd…

2 Responses to “That Guy Rocks!”

  1. Jessica Llanes October 9, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    That voting is a little early-that would be like determining who is in the playoffs before the all-star break!
    And I am DEFINITELY going to try this poundcake! It looks so good that I am almost tempted to make it right now-but I already have a two tiered cake in the works at the moment that needs to be at a birthday party in a few hours.So I guess I’ll have to wait = )

  2. ERIC October 18, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    This was my first time eating poundcake and it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

