Rush Order

2 Oct

As promised last week, I made a banana pudding flavored cake. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to make it as pretty as I would have liked. 😦 I was in a big hurry to get it finished before time for small group to start. As it turns out, I didn’t make it to small group afterall because I never got directions to the new location. So I guess I could have spent more time on it and decorated it all beautiful….but at least I snapped lots of pictures for you to see. 🙂

The banana pudding flavored cake consists of banana cake, pudding filling, and whipped cream for icing. Throw in a couple of mini vanilla wafers, and you can’t get much better than that. Of course, regular sized vanilla wafers could work just as well. I just think the mini ones are cuter. 🙂

It starts with ripe bananas…

…add all the basic cake ingredients: sugar, flour, eggs, vegetable oil, blah, blah, blah. I don’t have an electronic copy of the recipe. But if you really want it, give me your email address in the comments section. I’d be happy to send it to you.

Mix it all together and pour it in three 9″ pans. The batter smells a lot like banana nut bread.

Bake it until it becomes a shade of brown that I like to call “delicious.” 🙂 

(“Delicious brown” is just a little darker than “golden brown”)

After the cakes had time to cool, I used a cookie cutter to cut a little section from the middle. I just wanted to double check that it was cooked all the way through. Then I added a row of mini vanilla wafers to build a wall around the cake. The wafers will help keep the pudding in place.

I mixed up some instant vanilla pudding and added a few vanilla wafers pieces to it. This will be the filling of the cake.

Keep stacking alternating layers of cake and the pudding.

(This was about the point when I started licking my lips.)

Now time to make some whipped cream for the icing. The trick here is to chill your mixing bowl and beaters in the freezer for about 15 minutes before you start. I don’t remember how chilling it helps, but I know it has to do with the texture. You’ll need heavy whipping cream, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar.

Spread this over the entire cake. Since the icing is genuine whipped cream, you’ll want to keep the cake refrigerated until you’re ready to serve it.

This is where I’d planned to pipe some borders with the whipped cream, but I didn’t have time for that. I added some of the mini wafers around the edges instead, since that was a much quicker option.

And this is what it looks like all sliced up. It was very yummy. : )

Sorry that I’m too lazy at the moment to type up the entire recipe. But like I said, if you want a copy of it just leave your email address in the comments. I’ll get around to typing it up and sending it to you. 🙂

Next up: Poundcake

Random Thought of the Day: Ok, so this isn’t completely random. It does have to do with the blog. I’ve never tried the poundcake recipe that I’ll be making in the upcoming week. But I’ve seen great reviews about it online. It is a recipe from a Food Network Star. Anyone want to guess who? 🙂

3 Responses to “Rush Order”

  1. Jessica Llanes October 2, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    If I liked bananas, I would try this cake. But, alas I don’t. I would guess the food network star that you referred to, but you told me about someone’s poundcake recipe that you wanted to try out-so I think my “guess” would be cheating. I do have a fantastic sounding recipe for caramel apple poundcake from Paula though, and I’ll let you know when I try it out!

  2. Kirah Anderson October 9, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    This looks so yummy Jenn! Love the blog! I’ve read a few of them and they’re great! I think me and my MIL are going to try this recipe! We’re always making banana pudding w/ cool whip so I know we would like this! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    • icingonyourcake October 11, 2010 at 8:37 am #

      Let me know how it turns out! I can’t wait to make this one again. I think it’s going to become one of my favorites. 🙂

Leave a Reply

