Cake Pops!

25 Sep

I’ve mentioned before that bakerella.com is one of my favorite blogs. Here’s one more reason why: cake pops. Have you heard of them? If not, you probably will soon. “Bakerella” came up with the idea while playing around and being creative in her kitchen, and had no idea just how far the idea would take her. She has now published a book about them! I don’t have a copy of it yet, but Christmas will be  here before we know it. Santa already told me that he has a Cake Pops book just for me. 🙂 If you’ve never heard of them, they are basically little pieces of cake dipped in chocolate and attached to a lollipop stick. What could be wrong with that? 🙂

They can be very easy to make or very time-consuming, depending on how elaborately you’d like to decorate them. I’ve made a few that were decorated as cupcakes (she calls them “cupcake pops”) and they took quite a bit of time to finish. When I don’t have a couple of hours to spend in the kitchen, I go for the quick and easy version. For full details, visit bakerella.com.

Last week I decided to make a batch of cake pops for some of my students- the ones who had earned a treat for good behavior. They loved them! The students who didn’t get a cake pop because their behavior charts did not have smiley faces were SO jealous. One little girl almost cried! Poor thing. I’ll probably make them again and take some to the other teachers. The really great thing about them is that they are pretty much bite sized, so you don’t necessarily need a special occasion to make them. And there’s no fuss with slicing/plates/napkins/forks like there is with an actual cake.

Of course, the first thing you  need is cake. Each time I bake a cake and I trim it to level off the top, I save the scraps and freeze them. I’d collected a full bag of scraps, so I had plenty of cake to work with. I let it sit in the fridge overnight to thaw out.

In order to shape them, you must crumble the cake into fine pieces.

Add some icing of your choice, but only a little. The icing helps the cake to stick together, so that you can roll it into balls. But if you add to much icing it can get too sweet (considering that the entire thing will be dipped in chocolate). Roll them into balls and place on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper.

Cover these with aluminum foil and put them in the freezer for about 15 minutes so that they will firm up. I forgot to take a picture of the next step, but it’s pretty simple. Melt a small amount of chocolate bark and take the cake balls out of the freezer. Using lollipop sticks, dip just the very end of the stick into the chocolate and then into the cake ball. Return to the freezer for another 15 minutes or so. This allows the cake ball to become completely adhered to the lollipop stick, so that it doesn’t fall off later when it’s time to dip. 🙂

Melt the rest of your chocolate bark and get ready for the fun to begin. 🙂 The cake pops need to be firm when dipped into the chocolate, so I don’t suggest taking out the entire tray at once. Take out a few cake pops at a time and dip the entire cake portion into the melted chocolate bark. This way, the pops that are dipped last won’t have time to get soft again (like they would if you took out the entire pan and they sat on the counter).

Depending on how fancy you decide to go, you could actually let them dry just like this with a plain coating of chocolate. Since I was making this batch for first graders, they clearly needed sprinkles. 🙂 I’ve also made them with walnuts and they were delicious. I liked the crunchy texture it added. If you decided to add any extras after the chocolate coating (sprinkles, walnuts, etc) you will need to do it fairly quickly. The chocolate bark doesn’t take long to dry, and you want your “extras” to be added before it dries so that it sticks well.

Before you start the whole process, you’ll need to have something to stick the pops in while they dry. Following bakerella’s suggestion, I bought a styrofoam circle from a craft store and poked holes in it using one of the lollipop sticks. This way, you can stick the cake pop right into the styrofoam for it to dry.

It will only take a couple of minutes for the pops to dry completely, and then you can package them. Of course, if you’re making them just for a snack you can place them in an airtight container. I like to seal mine using treat bags (which can be found at craft/baking stores) and ribbon.

It’s a very quick and easy way to make them look extra special. Just cut lengths of ribbon, slip a treat bag over the top of the cake pop, and tie the ribbon around the bag with a pretty bow.

And there you have it! 🙂 I’m already thinking about the pretty ways I could make these for Christmas gifts. I could use red and green sprinkles and Christmas ribbon to tie the bags. I’m getting excited just thinking about it. 🙂 Who wouldn’t like to receive a small basket filled with these little cuties?

Next to Come: Banana Pudding Flavored Cake

Random Thought of the Day: My husband and I bought Scattegories last weekend. I hadn’t played it in several years, and he never had. It was a lot of fun. If you haven’t ever played it, or haven’t in quite a while, I recommend it. 🙂

The End.

3 Responses to “Cake Pops!”

  1. Eric September 26, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Cake pops! These things are fantastic!

  2. Mom September 26, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    I bet you’ll have more students with smiley faces on the charts next time.

    Speaking of Christmas, I’m sure some cake pops would fit in my stocking!

  3. Kasi October 2, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I know I’m behind on the posts but lb would definetly like cake pops or pop cakes as she calls them for Christmas she asked me just the other day where ours were from trays birthday lol

Leave a Reply

